Pumpkin Roll-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I absolutely love these. People always ask for the recipe. I use an orange flavored cream cheese frosting and they turn out great. By themselves I could agree with some of the other reviews, but I've made these every year at halloween and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
If you like pumpkin flavor this is the cookie for you. I did add more spice like others suggested. Flavor was just too pumkiny. Did roll and cook nicely. Definitely tasted better with frosting. I used cream cheese found on this site. Won't make again sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
These did not turn out for me. They cut well but were VERY bland. Tasted more like flour than pumpkin. I even added more spices like other reviwers had mentioned and it just didn't work out. I tried to salvage them with frosting and still had to throw them all away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
These were not to my taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I made this recipe with some hestitation because the reviews were quite mixed. But my husband requested a shaped pumpkin cookie so I was happy to find this. I must say that I did NOT experience any of the problems that some did. The dough was easy to work with and although the cookie itself is not cloyingly sweet, it does get the frosting which sweetens it up considerably. I'll just mention that I used 1/2 c butter and 1/4 c shortening as I was short on the butter. Also, as with any roll-out cookie I make. I chill for a minimum two hours then take the dough out and let it come to room temperature for a minimum of 1/2 hour before rolling. No pie-crust taste here. Just yummy cookies. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
I am sorry to say...but I have to concur with the others. This cookie DOES taste like pie crust. I even tweeked the spices and added more sugar. Difficult to roll out and weird texture. I iced with a brown sugar glaze and they still weren't edible. Won't be making this again:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I thought it was pretty darn good. I used canned pumpkin pie mix (instead of solid pumpkin), continued with the spices, and it turned out YUMMY! (for a cookie that you decorate with sprinkles and such). Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This recipe is awful. It tastes like pie crust. I tried it twice and tried vamping it up with more sugar and spice...still a big yuck. My 4 year old wouldn't touch them with a ten foot pole. Don't waste time on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
Great recipe! I also added just a bit more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
Nice change of pace from traditional roll-out cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States