Pumpkin Roll-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This recipe worked really well. The cookies came out really nicely, but to me, they tasted more orange than pumpkin, so the next time I make them I'll add more pumpkin or put some in the frosting. I used cream cheese frosting and it tasted good with the pumpkin and orange, but again, I think it would turn out better with some pumpkin added to the frosting or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fload

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
My family demolished these cookies in two days, and I've already been requested to make them again (but a triple batch this time). I used sugar cookie icing and decorated them like jack-o-lanterns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mama of four
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I thought is was such a nice change to regular sugar cookies! I doubled the spice and used a natural sugar alternative so my husband can eat them too and we all loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Despite all the negative reviews I thought I would give this recipe a chance because Im always looking for "seasonal" baking for the kids. Im so glad I did! We loved this cookie! It's so pumpkin-y/orange-y tasting...No pie crust, bland cookie here! I also had no sticky problems. It is a cut out cookie, so it does need to be chilled for a least a couple hours! It rolled out beautifully. I used Halloween cutters (I frosted half of them for the kids) The flavours are more pronounced the next day. A nice soft, flavorful cookie with a tinge of Autumn. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
An outstanding cookie with the orange rind - I also doubled the spices based on other reviews. Not at all a bland cookie, soft in the middle, though, does not get crispy like some other rolled cookies. I drizzled with orange glaze - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I altered the recipe a bit to my preferences, as follows: - Whole egg, not just yolk - Doubled the amount of cinnamon - Subtituted clove for ginger - Put 3/4 c. brown sugar instead of 1/2 c. - Substituted a tablespoon of apple cider for orange zest - Added a bit more flour to accomodate extra liquid With these adjustments these cookies were deliciously fall-spiced, moist and a hit with coworkers. I attribute the added cinnamon and sugar and apple cider to not having the flavor problem others had. Be sure to refrigerate dough for a long time and cut cookies quickly as this dough gets mushy fast as altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is my go-to rollout cookie recipe. I use Sucanat in place of the brown sugar. I love that they are not overly sweet, and they hold up great for decorating by children. As long as I use extra flour when rolling, I have no problems at all with the dough tearing or sticking when trying to roll and cut cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
It takes a couple days for the flavor to fully develop in these cookies but they're absolutely delicious once they've sat that long! I made them for a Thanksgiving potluck and they were a big hit. I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! Very easy to work with and a huge family hit! Next time I'll add a little more spice to give it a slightly stronger 'pumpkin pie' taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Best. Cookies. Ever. That's nothing else I can say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States