Pumpkin Roll-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
Very disappointing cookie. Tasted much like pie crust. Family very disappointed. Not good use of time or ingredients. Would not make these ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2000
there was little flavor to the end product, but they taste good with cream cheese frosting....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Not bad on taste - I was looking for something rather bland for toddlers anyway. Took FOREVER to cook these though. It was hard to get the dough rolled thin enough. I must have cooked them for at least .5 hr to get the insides cokked then they came out really hard. I don't think I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I counteracted the blandness that others warned about by doubling all the spices, and serving them with Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting on top. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
Nice change of pace from traditional roll-out cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
Great recipe! I also added just a bit more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This recipe is awful. It tastes like pie crust. I tried it twice and tried vamping it up with more sugar and spice...still a big yuck. My 4 year old wouldn't touch them with a ten foot pole. Don't waste time on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I thought it was pretty darn good. I used canned pumpkin pie mix (instead of solid pumpkin), continued with the spices, and it turned out YUMMY! (for a cookie that you decorate with sprinkles and such). Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
I am sorry to say...but I have to concur with the others. This cookie DOES taste like pie crust. I even tweeked the spices and added more sugar. Difficult to roll out and weird texture. I iced with a brown sugar glaze and they still weren't edible. Won't be making this again:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I made this recipe with some hestitation because the reviews were quite mixed. But my husband requested a shaped pumpkin cookie so I was happy to find this. I must say that I did NOT experience any of the problems that some did. The dough was easy to work with and although the cookie itself is not cloyingly sweet, it does get the frosting which sweetens it up considerably. I'll just mention that I used 1/2 c butter and 1/4 c shortening as I was short on the butter. Also, as with any roll-out cookie I make. I chill for a minimum two hours then take the dough out and let it come to room temperature for a minimum of 1/2 hour before rolling. No pie-crust taste here. Just yummy cookies. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States