Pumpkin Roll-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandrsmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I made the recipe exactly the same but doubled the spices. They were pretty good, but not amazing. I can see how someone might think they're piecrust-like, but I don't think anyone would say that if you didn't ask. I iced mine with royal icing and that helped a lot. My boyfriend doesn't have a sweet tooth at all and he really loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I'm sorry to say, even though I followed the directions EXACTLY as they were (with the exception of doubled the spices as recommended by others), these cookies were a mess! The dough was way too soft, and by the time I got enough flour on the counter to roll out the cookies, and then baked them, they tasted bland - like flour! :( I'm glad to hear that others have had success with this recipe, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Shoreview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I altered the recipe a bit to my preferences, as follows: - Whole egg, not just yolk - Doubled the amount of cinnamon - Subtituted clove for ginger - Put 3/4 c. brown sugar instead of 1/2 c. - Substituted a tablespoon of apple cider for orange zest - Added a bit more flour to accomodate extra liquid With these adjustments these cookies were deliciously fall-spiced, moist and a hit with coworkers. I attribute the added cinnamon and sugar and apple cider to not having the flavor problem others had. Be sure to refrigerate dough for a long time and cut cookies quickly as this dough gets mushy fast as altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I followed the original recipe and they are more of a bread-like cookie - and would be great for low sugar - cookie for small children. Great dough to work with, so nice for little hands to help. Even with a cinnamon sugar topping before baking - they were very bland. I vote for double spices and dribble chocolate over the top - it would be a sure fire winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I thought these were really good! They taste exactly like pumpkin pie in cookie form. I doubled the spices, though. The dough was super easy to work with, much better than other sugar cookie recipes I've worked with. I meant to use dark brown sugar but used light instead. They came out just fine, but the color was a bit lighter than I wanted. I melted vanilla and dark chocolate candy wafers and coated them with that. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I follow the recipe to the letter and the cookies came out very bland and doughy. I doubled the spices the second time, but they still were not very flavorful. I ended up drowning them with frosting, which made them much better. Overall, I wouldn't make these again- next time, I'll just stick with regular sugar cookies for cut-outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Agree with a lot of the others. With icing, they are great as they are. Without it though, they do lack some flavor. Tried making them using the premade pumpkin mix as someone recommended. I will make again, but will definitely use the pumpkin puree and double, maybe triple the spices. I desperately want a pumpkin roll-out cookie that doesn't require icing to make it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
An outstanding cookie with the orange rind - I also doubled the spices based on other reviews. Not at all a bland cookie, soft in the middle, though, does not get crispy like some other rolled cookies. I drizzled with orange glaze - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
They either needed sugar or something. I would NEVER make these again, they had NO flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States