Pumpkin Roll-Out Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
They were a bit gooey. I Had to add a lot more flour because the dough was almost like batter. But I discovered that if the dough is rolled out really thin, these make a delicious cookie. I've even been eating them without icing. I'll continue to make these. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ezmars
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I thought they were a decent roll-out cookie. They're a little on the chewy side, and they rise A LOT in the oven so be sure to roll them out to no more than 1/8 inch. I did double the spice and as with my sugar cookies, I rolled them out in powdered sugar. I did not have any oranges so I substituted some orange essence for the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezmars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
These had good flavor but needed far too much flour to roll and cut. It was very difficult to work with unless you chilled the dough every 15 minutes. The flavor didn't make the effort worth it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Great Cookie for decorating. Nice and firm to hold decorations. We didn't put the orange zest for we did not have it on hand. It taste like a fall cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I also used the pumpkin pie filling in this recipe, and added a little bit more sugar because of using more flour to roll out the dough. They turned out very flavorful - definitely better than your average sugar cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is my go-to rollout cookie recipe. I use Sucanat in place of the brown sugar. I love that they are not overly sweet, and they hold up great for decorating by children. As long as I use extra flour when rolling, I have no problems at all with the dough tearing or sticking when trying to roll and cut cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This recipe worked really well. The cookies came out really nicely, but to me, they tasted more orange than pumpkin, so the next time I make them I'll add more pumpkin or put some in the frosting. I used cream cheese frosting and it tasted good with the pumpkin and orange, but again, I think it would turn out better with some pumpkin added to the frosting or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fload

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly, & they wouldn't hold their shape. Kept scrunching back together like elastic. They didn't want to bake either! Very disappointing. Was making them for Thanksgiving in turkey shapes, but they never got served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I really wanted this cookie to taste better than it did. The best part of this cookie was the icing and sugar cinnamon sprinkled on top. It was too doughy and disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Disappointing. While I was happy it wasn't overly sweet, it was basically tasteless. The shapes were fun to cut out, but that was the extent of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States