Pumpkin Roll III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I have been making these rolls for years, this recipe is almost identical to the one I use except instead of ginger I use pumpkin pie spice. For the filling I only use 2 tablespoons of butter instead of 4. I end up making almost 10 rolls a year and this year was the easiest because I just started using Parchment Paper. I bake it on the parchment then take it out of the oven and roll it up warm right in the parchment paper. Another thing I found to make the cake spongy and easier to roll is to beat the eggs until they form peaks, then add the sugar gradually and beat the sugar and eggs for about 5 minutes before folding in the pumpkin (Libby's 100% Pure pumpkin in a can).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I got this recipe from the Southern Living Cookbook and it's fabulous! The only difference is that you add 1 cup of finely chopped walnuts or pecans sprinkled over the batter before putting the pan in the oven. Also, in the cream cheese filling, I throw in a dash of rum for the yum rum in the tum...oooo:) Hint: you must roll the cake while still hot and moist and must let cool completely before unrolling to keep from breaking. I make this at holidays a week in advance and freeze and pull out the day of. And in a pinch, you can cheat with with cream cheese frosting out of a can, but don't tell anyone! he, he
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I've made this roll twice.The second time I added 1t of pumpkin pie spice in addition to the other spices.I wanted to enhance the pumpkin flavor. To make it more attractive at serving time, I frosted it with a little filling I have saved, to which I added 3T of apricot preserves. You could also use peach preserves or orange marmalade for a great flavor combination.My friends enjoyed the more enhanced version, the the original version is delicious, too. Thanks, Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Wow! I just cannot say enough good things about this recipe! I don't know if I would call this easy...I don't think any rolls ever are...but it was SIMPLE. And the finished product is just soooo impressive. The cake was easy to roll with no cracks (always my big problem when making a roll cake), and the filling/icing is just SUBLIME! It's a wonder any of it got on the cakes! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
I made this recipe following the directions exactly and it came out great the first time. After that, I used the advice of the other reviews and used wax paper instead of a towel, and I don't use all of the icing just to keep it from oosing. It came out even better, and my friends are all still asking for the recipe!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
EXCELLENT! i have only heard horror stories about the making of pumpkin rolls. so after 24 years of marriage, thought i would try this recipe. well, i was so pleasantly suprised. no cracking as i rolled and they are delicious. i am proud of me!! thanks for the great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
This pumpkin roll was delicious. I have never made one before and I am not much of a cook, but this turned out wonderful! I did not have to use a towel. I just rolled mine up in wax paper and it held its shape perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
The house smelled wonderful as I baked this, but the pumpkin and spice flavor was not strong enough for such a rich cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
diane i have been wanting to make these forever, never could, they turned out great, love em, thanks from the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
This was delicious. Everyone at work raved about it and wanted the recipe. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States