Pumpkin Roll II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Fantastic!! Everyone loved this. I made this for Thanksgiving & Christmas. Easier to make than it sounds. If you make the filling first and refrigerate for about an hour it will thicken up. Not too running for rolling process. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cordova, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This was a very good pumpkin roll and certainly easy, albeit messy, to make. LOL...I'm a purist! I do EXACTLY what the recipe calls for, uh usually. I didn't know what "self rising" flour was but I Googled it and made my own. Wish that was the only hurdle...didn't have any nutmeg...used pumpkin pie spice but added extra ginger & cinnamon. I'm making seven more and WILL go out and get nutmeg. The filling, personally, I like a little more. Otherwise, thanks for sharing and I apologize for making "adjustments" but they were not planned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
My family has been making this for over 20 years at the holidays! My suggestion-- I found after filling and rolling I wrap in wax paper, then foil and FREEZE! This really makes the roll very moist, firms up the filling nicely and makes it very easy to cut into nice slices. When you take out of the freezer, let it sit 5-10 before slicing. I also make extra rolls to give as gifts and can be left in the freezer for up to 3 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This is one of the best pumpkin rolls I have EVER had!!! *Note* be sure to use excatly the amount of butter for the filling as the recipe calls for...or the filling will be soupy and it will run out the side when you roll it up. Everyone that has tried this pumpkin roll loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiedust00

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I've been making this exact same recipe for 15 years. Always a huge hit. I make them as gifts for friends when we visit during the holidays. Pumpkin Rolls also freeze well. I always wrap in plastic, then foil and place in zip lock bag. Defrost at room temp and then place in frig. Great recipe to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lynn Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I've been wanting to make this cake for a couple of years now, but felt a little intimidated by the rolling process. My friend "Cookinme" gave me the courage to give it a whirl. Wow, I can't believe how easy it was! It's such a pretty and festive looking cake too. Absolutely wonderful Kathleena and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This was a great dessert! I've never made one, and it was easy! I also used a regular baking sheet instead of a jelly roll pan...it worked fine. (It still took about 20 minutes to bake.) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ripley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I made this for my babys 1st birthday I put brown frosting on it and decorated with frogs and snakes it looked just like a log and every one raved on the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This pumpkin roll is great. Everyone loves it butter is the key in the filling. Make sure to use butter instead of margerine in the filling because it is a little to soft with margerine. Again easy great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This was great. Very tasty. It disappeared quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States