Pumpkin Roll I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My changes: I used a large jelly roll pan, 12 x 17, (called a commercial half sheet) I double the pumpkin cake part of the recipe to make the cake thicker. I lined the pan with a greased and floured parchment paper, and I let the paper hang over the sides an inch for ease of removing the cake. I used Watkins Pumpkin Spice in place of the cinnamon and ginger, 2 tablespoons. Instead of using towels to roll, I laid out heavy foil w/ a parchment dusted w/ powd. sugar, and rolled the foil. I also doubled the filling, and spread a even 1/4 layer over entire surface, and I roll from the widest edge across. When doubling the cake portion, and rolling from the widest width, I was able to cut at least 20 slices. But before I attempt to slice I make sure it is frozen at least 2 hours, and I then use a electric knife for a clean slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Delicious, made a huge mess in my kitchen! I wasn't sure how long to cool it before rolling it out of the pan, so I did it right away, but I think I should have let it cool for 5-10 minutes. I used tin foil sprayed with butter and floured. It ended up a little messy because it was my first attempt at a roll, but it was delicious! If you want to leave the pecans out, it was fine in my book
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This is so good to try something new instead of pumpkin add 2/3 c sweet potato puree absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is amazing!!! I didnt have the towels so i used the foil idea and it worked like a charm!!! No cracking and tasted wonderful! This is one of my childrens favorite deserts and they are going to be so excited when they get home from school!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
love love love this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
The recipe itself is amazing. Perfect taste and the filling is delicious. But when it came down to the rolling, it completely fell apart. I tried both the towel and the foil methods and both ruined the cake and I ended up eating it as a heap of mush (delicious mush, though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Excellent recipe, first time I ever tried making a pumpkin roll it was a mess. But with this recipe it turned out great and was very tasty. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
was absolutly delcious. I could not stop eating it!! Make sure to use lots of powdered sugar/cooking spray because the roll gets pretty sticky. Had to make a second one because the first one stuck to the towel even with quite a bit of powdered sugar on it. Was worth it though. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather0416

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Better than I had imagined. I wouldnt change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfmoonnh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lee, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I subbed pumpkin pie spice for all the other spices (although I did add in a bit more cinnamon) and just used a dash or two of salt. Also, I mixed the nuts in with the cream cheese filling and when I rolled it, I used waxed paper. This was my first attempt, and it didn't turn out very pretty but, WOW! It tasted amazing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMEasterling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States