Pumpkin Roll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was great. Very easy to make. I wish we had the ability to reply to reviews on this site, since we can not I'll make a few comments to some of the reviewers here. Spread the cake in the pan all the way to the corners with a spatula. Smooth it evenly throughout the pan. If you dump it all in the center of the pan, it will not spread out to the corners in the oven by itself. Spray the pan with regular Pam, line it with wax paper, spray the wax paper with Pam for baking (with flour) and the cake will be easy to remove from the pan. Roll the cake in a towel (or as another suggested, use a pillow case). This is done to let the heat and moisture escape. Rolling it in wax paper will trap in moisture from the hot cake and make the cake soggy. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
706 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
We made 20 of these this past weekend. We found that if you just spray the pan good with pam and not use wax paper it will work good. We put our wax paper on the table, lightly coated it with powdered sugar then when it came out of the oven we put a small amount of powdered sugar on top of the cake and then rolled it up and put in ref. to cool down. It unrolled real good. We also added 8 Tablespoons of Cool Whip to the filling and it really gave it a good taste. We have more orders to fill for Christmas.lol. So you can see it is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
347 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I've been making this for quite a few years. Everybody loves it. Just make sure that you put plenty of sifted confectionary sugar on towel before rolling, otherwise it will stick to towel and make sure it is completely cooled before unrolling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I love this recipe. I have made this recipe 3 times now. Each time I used all the ingredients exactly as they are called for. I varied the way I prepared the pan each time based on reviews here. Here's what I found...the first time I made it I just sprayed the pan then poured in the batter. It came out fine. The second time I did the same - and it stuck! Same pan but for some reason I was not as lucky as the first time. The third time I lined the pan with parchment, sprayed that then poured in the batter. That seemed to work best but I found out why you spray the pan also *before* you put the paper in...some batter leaked under the paper and stuck to the pan a bit. It stil turned out okay. I think I have learned: DON'T TAKE YOUR CHANCES ONLY SPRAYING THE PAN. Lastly, IF YOU CRACK IT BEYOND REPAIR: I broke it into pieces and used a trifle bowl to layer the pieces and the cream cheese mixture (with 1 cup cool whip mixed into the cream cheese). I topped it with more cool whip, nuts, and a dusting of cinnamon. It was a good rescue and looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This cake is so delicious, I cannot recommend it enough. I added 1/2 tsp. ginger to the cake and 1 teaspoon grated orange peel along with 1/2 cup cool whip to the cream filling. Be sure to let the rolled cake cool all the way before attempting to unroll it and fill it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I never made a jelly roll cake before and was kind of nervous. I made 2 of them and they were very easy!! I used all Splenda (R) in place of sugar and it was delicious. I froze mine to bring to a couple of parties. Thaws in a hour or so. Looks like a bakery made it. Taste wonderful! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Very delicious! If you grease and flour the sheet well before putting the batter on, you don't need to put parchment paper on it. It's just a pain to peel off afterwards. Instead of putting it on a towel, you can put some saran wrap down and sprinkle it, then use that to roll it up after it cools a little. We forgot to turn it over though before we put the cream cheese mixture on the ugly side, that way the nice smooth side is up. We also put cool whip in the filling, but one cup was a bit much. Neufchâtel cheese also worked fine (it's healthier). We also used splenda in the cream cheese filling in place for half the sugar. Enjoy! Very tasty**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Everyone loves this one. All that rolling sounds a little complicated, but it's really pretty easy. I want the nuts on the inside of the cake so I grease the sides of the pan and use parchment paper in the bottom. As soon as it comes out of the oven, I run a butter knife around the edges, flip it on to a sideless (?) cookie sheet and flip it again onto the powdered sugar tea towel, roll up and chill. 3/4 of a cup of walnuts works best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
My mom and I make these every year. This is our exact recipe, but I do have a few suggestions to make this experience much better for you! Make them five at a time. One large can of PURE pumpkin is exactly enough for five rolls. Cook them on parchment paper but make sure you fold it right into the cookie sheet. When you pour the batter in, the folded paper helps to prevent the edges from burning. Wait until they cool completely and then spread the cream cheese frosting. Leave an inch around all four sides w/o frosting. it will spread when you roll it. Make them at least a day or two before you need them. When you have them rolled, wrap them as tight as you can get them in saran wrap. Even if they have cracked, the saran wrap will fix everything. After wrapping them put them directly into the refrigerator. I usually make 20 in one day near Thanksgiving and freeze them to give as small gifts over the holiday season. Not to mention that my husband then has access to them all year long!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvTheseKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockwood, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Hi, this recipe is similar to one I have and love, however, mine calls for 1 tsp. of ginger. I thought it was a type-o, then I noticed another recipe had ginger. Has anyone tried it? What does it do? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States