Pumpkin Roll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I'm not sure what I am doing wrong with this recipe. I made it yesterday and after 25 minutes of baking it was like a custard on the inside. I know I'm going wrong at the egg/flour stage but I'm not sure why. Any pointers on what the consistency after 5 min of beating the egg should be. I did it again today and I'm pretty sure I did it wrong again : ( I know I can do it right and it will be great but I don't know what is wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I've been making these cake rolls for well over 25 years now and you don't need to grease the jelly roll pan. Just line it with wax paper and allow enough paper extending over the ends of the pan so you can use it for handles to lift the cake out. I also lift the pan up and slap it down on the counter several times to make the batter spread more evenly over the pan. After the cake is baked and lifted out of the pan, generously sift powdered sugar over it, then lay it on a linen dish towel (or pillowcase) and roll it all up together. I allow them to cool no more than an hour. If you allow it to get completely cold it will be more likely to crack when you unroll it. One more thing, do not overbake. I bake mine for 15 minutes @ 350F, no more, no less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarissaT
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is my new Thanksgiving go to dessert. Simple to make and disappears in minutes. It was the hit of my Thanksgiving potluck today. Everyone wished there was two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarissaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Easy and yummy!! I served mine with some gingerbread flavored ice cream...those that ate it raved;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made this for a church function and when all was said and done, those who brought a store-bought roll had left overs and mine was gone. Everyone said that it was so light yet delicious...and I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Not much to add to everyone elses notes except that I totally agree with reducing the powdered sugar and adding cool whip. I used 3/4 cup powdered sugar and 3/4 cup cool whip. It gave it a "not too sweet" taste and was much better as to not taste too much like powdered sugar. Top notch and my house smelled amazing. My family came in from hunting and my 16 year old son told me the smell was making him crazy. It smelled a bit like christmas today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I have made this for several years and it is a big hit and certain relatives request it every year for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I made this last night and it really tastes great! (I omitted the nuts.) And it just looks so pretty! My only comment is that you should definitely spray and flour the waxed paper heavily before cooking. I did a light dusting and had a hard time getting the cake off the paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I've been making this for years. You start rolling from the LONG side not the short side. That way you get a longer roll of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn32789

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
2 options to try. Bake cake in well greased and floured metal coffee cans. When cool, slice and let guests spread on their own frosting. Or, bake 4 thin round cakes. Frost layers for a 4 tier tort. Ps. I always add an 8 ounce tub of Cool Whip to the filling. It makes it very fluffy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States