Pumpkin Roll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Not bad. Overmixed or overcooked the first time and turned out slightly tough. Also whipped cream filling would be much better instead of buttercream, it was too dense/rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Very delicious recipe. I couldn't stay out of it. Everyone who tried it asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcsanady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Followed the recipe to a tee except i decreased powdered sugar to 3/4 c. it was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This is so wonderful! My mom began making this years ago at holiday parties, and she has NEVER taken it anywhere people didn't rant and rave about how great it is. I have been making it also, and it is always a huge hit. We have both had people offer to pay us to make them a roll, HA HA Maybe we should take them up on that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I originally made this recipe in 2007 by Mary Gecho, which is no longer listed on this site. It is slightly different ingred., mixing inst., and pan prep. I misplaced it and have been using this one which is good, but Mary's is much better. During a recent move I found Mary's; to me the texture of hers is much better. Here it is....3 eggs, 1 cup sugar,2/3 canned pumpkin, 1 tsp lemon juice, 3/4 cup all-purp flour, 2 tsp cinnamon,1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 cup chopped walnuts, 6 oz cream cheese,1 cup conf sugar, 1/4 cup butter, and 1/2 tsp vanilla. the directions are basically the sane except....beat eggs for 3 minutes...beat in sugar for 2 minutes.....grease the wax paper, but don't flour it, it will peel off easily.....bake 12-14 minutes...cool 5 minutes before dumping from pan. Just a hint from me, I have found that if I sprinkle my cake with powdered sugar instead of my towel, it works much better for me. Hope you enjoy. Mary's recipe is moister, to me this one is a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
So easy! Who knew it doesn't take that much to make an impressive dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I just tried this recipe last night. It was amazing! GREAT recipe! I actually substituted regular flour for almond flour to make the pumpkin roll gluten-free. Gluten-free cakes have a tendency to crumble and with having to roll the cake I thought for sure it would get destroyed. But it stayed moist and perfectly in tact the entire process and the cream cheese filling kept it moist and delicious! Very happy with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is a crowd favorite! I was pleasantly surprised to find this recipe easier than it seems. This is just as tasty with or without the walnuts. I would recommend keeping the roll in the freezer until the very last minute as it defrosts rather quickly. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Works great and is not hard at all if you have a very large, thin tea towel. I added a bit of lemon zest to the filling and it was sublime. Everyone loved it. Make it a day ahead and refridgerate. It cuts better as well as tasing better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Very tasty and easy to make. If you spray your jelly roll pan well with a flour and oil baking spray, like Baker's Joy, you can completely omit the step of lining your pan with parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States