Pumpkin Roll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
not sure what I did wrong. The cake was perfect, no problem rolling...even though it was my first time making a roll cake. The filling was what I didn't like. First it came out real thick and impossible to spread over whole cake. I added more butter and cheese and a tad of vanilla and some water. then I mixed the initial thick filling into the new thinner mixture. It worked fine. However, the overall texture of the filling was pasty. Next time will do another filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This recipe is 1/4 tsp. nutmeg off from one I cut from a newspaper years ago. It also recommended using parchment paper. Forgive me if this is too obvious, but when releasing the cake from the parchment, don't lift the paper straight up, bring it back low/against itself and it will release without additional tools. I always roll from the long side and cut into two cakes, wrap in plastic then foil and freeze in a freezer zip bag so that I can whip one out at a moments notice and it is wonderful even months later. Great recipe. I love this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tate29
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made it for thanksgiving. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Mine stuck badly to the wax paper. Maybe with more grease next time it will work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moneyCuz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by b.j.jones
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
First time I made it for thanksgiving dessert, and everyone loved it, so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.j.jones

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Azuna
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This recipe is awesome! I did make one small substitution. Initially I used walnuts but I found that some of them were bitter. I had just bought the bag but they were probably old. I used instead shaved almonds that I roasted in the oven for a few minutes, let them cool off and then sprinkled them on the batter. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Turned out dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
LIKE OMG WOW. Followed this recipe through and it turned out way better than expected. My first time making a roll, and this recipe made it look like I was pro. Things I changed: Used white whole wheat flour instead of AP flour. Swapped 1/4 c coconut oil (solidified) in place of butter Chose 1/3 reduced fat cream cheese Also I used a cookie sheet because I didn't have a jelly roll pan. The cake came out thinner than in the video. I also didn't use wax paper (didn't have any), I just sprayed the sheet with cooking spray (canola) and floured it. The cake stuck to the sheet a little bit, but I pryed it with a flat metal spatula and it turned out okay. The cake also cracked a little bit when I unrolled it from the towel but when I rolling it after spreading the cream cheese mixture, it wasn't a problem. Make sure to dazzle plenty of powdered sugar on your kitchen towel! This recipe is GOLDDDDDDD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Can I freeze unfilled roll?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States