Pumpkin Roll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was great! I will definitely make this again soon. The white cream filling was a bit sweet I would suggest less sugar but over all two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This recipe is quite good for a pumpkin roll. I traditionally make a pumpkin roll for my husbands family as it is their favorite. I omitted the walnuts (because the previous recipes I've used didn't call for them), otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. This is the third or fourth different recipe I've used for making a pumpkin roll, and this is the first time that I've had the roll crack upon rolling it. I'm not sure exactly what is to blame, but I think I'll be using one of my other recipes next year. That said, the flavor and texture of this roll are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Excellent, alot easier than I thought. This was my first "roll cake". Pan - greased pan, used parchment paper (instead of waxed), greased the paper and sprinkled it with cinn. sugar & a bit of pumpkin spice. (I use the cinn/sugar comb. with Banana Breads, Spice Cakes, muffins etc... whether or not "flour dusting" is required. Read it here a long time ago- ) The cin/sugar/pumk. combo" produced a slightly crunch outside, adding another texture. Although I will use LESS conf. sugar in cream cheese to off set as it was on the extra ++sweet side. Cooling time for cake was about 90 min +/-. I was afraid to unroll it any sooner to test it! And yes, it did crack - no big deal...PS used a king size pillow case to roll it in - remember to place cake - the part you will start the rolling with, closer to end, otherwise there was too much material rolled in the center. Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mag1166

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was really tasty and surprisingly easy to make! Light spongy cake with a creamy filling. Batter was very liquidy and I thought I did something wrong, but it baked up nicely. Be sure to roll it up in towel while still hot or it won't roll up properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kketnick
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Excellent! The only advice I'd add is to refrigerate the filling prior to spreading. It keeps it thick and makes the roll look great. The first time I didn't do this and the icing thinned out when I rolled the cake up and it all squeezed out the end. Looks complicated (the first time may not come out perfect) but otherwise a simple dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kketnick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatieKat43
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was pretty tasty. I baked it for only 13 minutes and it came out SUPER moist. It was hard for me to flip it on to the tea towel so next time I am going to put the tea towel on top and then flip...when I flipped the cake straight down it landed lopsided on the tea towel and I couldn't straighten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKat43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This recipe is FABULOUS, however you don't want to be making it if you're on a diet of any kind. LOL I made it using non stick parchment paper and didn't have to flour and grease anything. Came off like a charm. I will definitely be requesting this as my B'day cake. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I did not make this, however it is very close to the recipe I have. Over the years I have tried many different ways to bake and roll the cake. I use parchment paper as it does not stick and there is no need for cooking spray. I take my spatula and spread my pumpkin mixture to the ends of my wilton baking sheet and then tap it on the table, or counter, and fill in where necessary. I roll by using a hand towel covered with powdered sugar. Wait 20 minutes unroll and fill with cream cheese mix and roll back up and get it into the fridge. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
My family and friends loved this pumpkin roll last year and to my amazement I have had 4 request for it this year. I plan to double the 3 made in the Holiday Season 2009.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpmccn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Was thick and tended to break when rolling back up. Tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States