Pumpkin Roll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Good taste but make sure you grease the wax paper really well or you will have trouble with it sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was really nice. Very moist and a good cake to cream cheese ratio. The instructions worked well, and I only got one crack in the whole cake which I rolled to the side. It was so good though, nobody noticed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Overall, the cake recipe worked as advertised. I had trouble with the filling, however. I could not get it to whip up as fluffy as it seemed it was supposed to be. I had to substitute peanuts for the walnuts since one of my children is allergic to walnuts. Admittedly, this affected the taste. My family gave it an average rating of only 2.5 stars, but I think this wouldn't have changed much regardless of the nut topping. They were just not very enthusiastic about the pumkin flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was my 1st attempt at a rolled cake. I did not hav ethe right pan so made it in a bigger but shallower cookie pan and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This turned out so delicious and moist! I wanted an alternative for pumpkin pie and this pumpkin roll is now being added to our holiday menu from now on. So yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Beautiful! I almost chickened out and tried for a layer cake instead because I was worried I would make a terrible mess while trying to roll/unroll. I made the cake exactly as recipe stated. Sprayed my parchment paper and it did not stick to the cake even a little bit. Flipped it directly onto a pillowcase sprinkled with confectioners sugar, rolled it up and stuck it in the fridge to cool which took about 90 minutes. When I unrolled it there was not even a hint of cracking. I did use the whole 8 oz of cream cheese for the frosting-also added 2 T of heavy whipping cream and 1 1/2 t of cinnamon to the icing. I ended up wit a little extra which I spread on top. I was told it was "too good". Will make this again for Thanksgiving next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I'm not sure what I am doing wrong with this recipe. I made it yesterday and after 25 minutes of baking it was like a custard on the inside. I know I'm going wrong at the egg/flour stage but I'm not sure why. Any pointers on what the consistency after 5 min of beating the egg should be. I did it again today and I'm pretty sure I did it wrong again : ( I know I can do it right and it will be great but I don't know what is wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I've been making these cake rolls for well over 25 years now and you don't need to grease the jelly roll pan. Just line it with wax paper and allow enough paper extending over the ends of the pan so you can use it for handles to lift the cake out. I also lift the pan up and slap it down on the counter several times to make the batter spread more evenly over the pan. After the cake is baked and lifted out of the pan, generously sift powdered sugar over it, then lay it on a linen dish towel (or pillowcase) and roll it all up together. I allow them to cool no more than an hour. If you allow it to get completely cold it will be more likely to crack when you unroll it. One more thing, do not overbake. I bake mine for 15 minutes @ 350F, no more, no less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarissaT
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is my new Thanksgiving go to dessert. Simple to make and disappears in minutes. It was the hit of my Thanksgiving potluck today. Everyone wished there was two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarissaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Easy and yummy!! I served mine with some gingerbread flavored ice cream...those that ate it raved;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States