Pumpkin Roll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Had never made a cake roll of any sort. Always felt it was too much work. Well I make this pumpkin roll cake and it was a big hit. Fairly easy to make and it was delicious. It was the one desert that everyone totally enjoyed. Will make it again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is the first time making a roll cake. I messed up the first one by adding the sugar to the flour mixture. The second one I made exactly as written. Both rolled up fine. The correct one was a little lighter and fluffier but both looked and tasted great! I added 1/2 cup whip topping to the filling, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
FABULOUS RECIPE!! IV HAD BAD EXPERIENCES IN THE PAST WITH MAKING JELLY ROLL CAKES THEY NEVER SEEN TO TURN OUT! NO PROBLEMS WITH THIS RECIPE!! ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! MY ONLY CHANGE WAS IN THE FILLING I ADDED A BIT MORE POWDERED SUGAR FOR A THICKER FILLING! I WILL DEFIENTLY BE MAKING THIS AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
The cake is fantastic.. the only problem was the cream cheese filling, I tasted it before using it and it had no flavor, I added another 1/2 cup of confectioners sugar and a teaspoon of pumpkin spice, along with milk to make it spreadable.. Every one loved it,, Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I tried to make this twice, and it did not turn out. Have never had a problem with pumpkin rolls before. Followed it to the letter- the cake fell apart when trying to remove the waxed paper. The wax paper simply would not release. Tried baking without wax paper, same problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Not bad. Overmixed or overcooked the first time and turned out slightly tough. Also whipped cream filling would be much better instead of buttercream, it was too dense/rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Very delicious recipe. I couldn't stay out of it. Everyone who tried it asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcsanady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Followed the recipe to a tee except i decreased powdered sugar to 3/4 c. it was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This is so wonderful! My mom began making this years ago at holiday parties, and she has NEVER taken it anywhere people didn't rant and rave about how great it is. I have been making it also, and it is always a huge hit. We have both had people offer to pay us to make them a roll, HA HA Maybe we should take them up on that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I originally made this recipe in 2007 by Mary Gecho, which is no longer listed on this site. It is slightly different ingred., mixing inst., and pan prep. I misplaced it and have been using this one which is good, but Mary's is much better. During a recent move I found Mary's; to me the texture of hers is much better. Here it is....3 eggs, 1 cup sugar,2/3 canned pumpkin, 1 tsp lemon juice, 3/4 cup all-purp flour, 2 tsp cinnamon,1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 cup chopped walnuts, 6 oz cream cheese,1 cup conf sugar, 1/4 cup butter, and 1/2 tsp vanilla. the directions are basically the sane except....beat eggs for 3 minutes...beat in sugar for 2 minutes.....grease the wax paper, but don't flour it, it will peel off easily.....bake 12-14 minutes...cool 5 minutes before dumping from pan. Just a hint from me, I have found that if I sprinkle my cake with powdered sugar instead of my towel, it works much better for me. Hope you enjoy. Mary's recipe is moister, to me this one is a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States