Pumpkin Roll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
First pumpkin roll cake I ever made and it turned out fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly will make over and over again. This one is a keeper! I don't understand why other reviewers complained about the cake cracking as I did not have any problems at all with cracking. Oh yes, the roll looks great also! Thanks Stephanie for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Very good and easy to make. The only thing I did not like was the over powering flavor of the nutmeg. Next time I will just use pumpkin spice instead, I heard it tastes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
what a mess!!! I followed the instructions step by step and the cake got stuck to the linen! I recommend you skip this step and just let it cool and roll it after you add the filling. Much more easy. Great taste though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I've been making this wonderful cake for years. The only difference in this recipe & mine is, that mine calls for 1 tsp of ground ginger, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg & 1 tsp vanilla. I had no problem rolling it but I do like the idea of rolling it in a pillow case, for a smoother surface. I make extra filling & spread a line of it down the top of the cake & prinkle with a few walnuts. It's always a hit. I will be making it this week for a Thanksgiving pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I also have been making for years. I have made change to mine over the years. The additional spices, (ginger, nutmeg) with the cinnamon. What I want to say is, I can see whipped cream added to the filling would be very good, But why does everyone want to use cool whip????? Real whipped cream is not that hard to make, and yes I get the calorie thing, but are the chemicals and all the other weird stuff really better for you?? If you are eating that much whipped cream you might have a problem, That's a joke !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
My mother gave me this recipe years ago. It is soooo good. The only difference in her recipe is that there is 1 tsp. ginger added. I also don't use 1 c. of conf. sugar. I think that's too much, so I use 3/4 c. The secret to rolling the cake is to make sure you don't over bake it. Otherwise, it cracks and breaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maribor, Štajerska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
A real crowd pleaser! I came home to find the cake I left chilling in the fridge was GONE. Delicious, but you really do have to be careful when rolling it so it doesn't fall apart on you. I addd a brown butter glaze on top and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph.dudek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JTRAVELSTEAD
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This recipe is good but I did tweek it to fit our taste. In the filling I added 1/3 cup caramel sauce and 4 oz of meled white chocolate along with 2 cups of whipped cream. After we put the filling in and rolled it we iced the outside with the rest of the filling. Turned out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
AMAZING! My aunt used to make this for Thanksgiving every year. It was the one thing I need in order to make it feel like Thanksgiving. I finally found this recipe, and it is above all the best one I've ever tried. Just like my aunt's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner at my nieces home and everyone absolutely loved it. I did line my pan with parchment paper as opposed to greasing everything. I did have a little trouble unrolling the cake, next time I will use more icing sugar for dusting. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States