Pumpkin Roll Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
this was a hit. I made several to sell at Thanksgiving last year. the first "tester" roll, no one liked the lemon juice so I took that out. I also added a sprinkle or two of cinnamon in the filling for one customer and she was like this is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My family loved this recipe....so delicious. The cake had excellent flavor. I followed the recipe exactly and added Pumpkin Pie Spice along with the other spices called for in the recipe. My cake did crack a little as I rolled it but in the end it didn't show. When you layer the filling, it will hide any cracks ;) I'll definitely make this cake again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I just made this today. It was easy and very good, but quite messy to make (all that powdered sugar, just like plaster dust) and very rich. I had a few little cracks in the inside part of the roll, but the outside part of the roll was perfect. I used half splenda and half white sugar in the cake. My daughter had made cream cheese frosting for 100 cupcakes and left the unused portion here, so I put 1-1/2 cups in freezer bowls and froze it. That is the frosting I used, but for the cake part, I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I did differently was to dampen the towel very slightly before sprinkling it with powdered sugar. When I turned the cake out on the towel, the powdered sugar poofed everwhere, so don't have a toaster, clean dishes, etc, sitting near when you do that. I also sprinkled the nuts over the cut slices on the serving plates because I have people who don't like nuts in things. A good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
not sure what I did wrong. The cake was perfect, no problem rolling...even though it was my first time making a roll cake. The filling was what I didn't like. First it came out real thick and impossible to spread over whole cake. I added more butter and cheese and a tad of vanilla and some water. then I mixed the initial thick filling into the new thinner mixture. It worked fine. However, the overall texture of the filling was pasty. Next time will do another filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This recipe is 1/4 tsp. nutmeg off from one I cut from a newspaper years ago. It also recommended using parchment paper. Forgive me if this is too obvious, but when releasing the cake from the parchment, don't lift the paper straight up, bring it back low/against itself and it will release without additional tools. I always roll from the long side and cut into two cakes, wrap in plastic then foil and freeze in a freezer zip bag so that I can whip one out at a moments notice and it is wonderful even months later. Great recipe. I love this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tate29
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made it for thanksgiving. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Mine stuck badly to the wax paper. Maybe with more grease next time it will work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moneyCuz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by b.j.jones
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
First time I made it for thanksgiving dessert, and everyone loved it, so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.j.jones

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Azuna
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This recipe is awesome! I did make one small substitution. Initially I used walnuts but I found that some of them were bitter. I had just bought the bag but they were probably old. I used instead shaved almonds that I roasted in the oven for a few minutes, let them cool off and then sprinkled them on the batter. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States