Pumpkin Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was delicious. The only thing I did differently was heat the liquids over low heat. I didn't need the last 1/2 cup or so of liquid. Also, I only had dried thyme, so that's what I used. We really enjoyed this, and it let me use up half a can of pumpkin that I had sitting in my pantry. Now, I just need to use up the other half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was lovely comfort food on a cold evening. I added mushrooms as per a fewother reviews, and also tried some of the mixture with canned tuna stirred in as a complete meal option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I would eat this every day if I could! I made a smaller batch before Thanksgiving to try it out, and loved it so much I made a double batch on Thanksgiving so I'd have plenty of leftovers! I made it with the mushrooms and served it inside roasted acorn squash halves, and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This recipe is absolutely delicious! It is however, time-consuming as risotto is - but well worth it for the excellent taste and texture. I used a bit more white wine than the recipe called for, and it had a nice finish to it. I will make this again; the parmesan cheese makes a wonderful topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I adore this recipe. I am pretty much addicted to all things pumpkin! This had a good flavor and not overwhelmingly pumpkiny. I made a couple of small changes... I omitted the wine and added a splash of vinegar + water. I used more than 1 cup of pumpkin because I had a large already opened can and didn't want to waste. I used dry thyme. And I added a lot of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was okay. I also thought the pumpkin flavor was rather mild. Maybe that's the point? I had a sugar pumpkin I needed to use and it served it's purpose well. Not sure what the difference would be using canned versus a roasted pumpkin? It was a great color though and tasted just fine, but nothing amazing. I also added a bit of chopped mushrooms. I'll try again next fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I turned this into a main course by adding shittake mushrooms, shrimp, asparagus and topped with walnuts. It was easy to make and was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Excellent recipe!! I've made this a few times now and love it every time. I normally roast a sugar pumpkin rather than using canned and toss all of it in so probably have a good 3-4 times the amount of pumpkin called for. I like the chunky texture of mixing in fresh pumpkin rather than the pureed canned kind. Also substituting hard cider for the white wine is very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Made as written. Excellent side dish. Didn't taste too much pumpkin but definitely a different taste than plain risotto. Was a perfect side dish to pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was a tasty generic risotto. This subtlety of the pumpkin was overpowered by the other components of the dish. I tried to bring out the pumpkin by skipping the bouillon, but the flavor was still lost amongst the onions, garlic, and parmesan. Still tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States