Pumpkin Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was great. You should definatley make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I used brown rice for this recipe and it seemed like the recipe called for way too much water and too much milk because the rice didn't come close to absorbing all the liquid. I drained out a lot of milk. However it still came out pretty good. I wouldn't say it was amazing but it is editable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Although you might like the healthy version, you must try the recipe as it is first!... That is my rule of thumb. All rice is different and is not as starchy or as absorbable as the rest! I can soak up 6 cups of milk with 1 cup of reg med grain rice..Brown rice takes longer to asborb liquid than thw white rices...Cooking is a chemistry, you have to know what your doing before u start changing things, plus have the experience in doin so. From a professinal cook and chef yours truly George
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIG IV

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seymour, Connecticut, USA
Photo by 5boys2cook4
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
First of all, I'm a big fan of both pumpkin pie and rice pudding. I don't think this tastes like pumpkin pie and I didn't love the pudding. I made it exactly as written(4 cups of milk is not too much when using the right rice), but something in the pumpkin layer seemed off. I think it could have used more sugar and spices. I would taste the pumpkin half before baking it, and add whatever you think it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5boys2cook4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This was very tasty. My family was doing a vegan type diet for a few weeks and this definitely helped with the sweet cravings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I used soymilk instead of moo milk, and honey instead of sugar. It turned out really well! I did feel like it was missing something so I added more cinnamon and that helped. My 18 mos. old and I enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
We skipped the water and cooked the rice in rice milk, adding rice milk again later. Also substituted agave for the sugar. We all enjoyed this - but by itself made us think of it as more of a breakfast porridge rather than a dessert. Topping of ice cream or whipping cream was a nice add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
a good way to have nutrition and sweetness in a dessert. I would increase the sugar a bit...good flavor overall. I used leftover brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is pretty tastey. I am a huge fan of rice pudding and since I have an abundance of pumpkin in my freezer I was searching for a use for it. Followed the recipe except used a heaping tsp of pumpkin spice instead of the individual spices. Also increased the sugar to 1/2c. After simmering in the milk for 20mins it was still really soupy so I decided to just mix in the puree and not layer. Cooked for 60 mins, stirring every 20mins and it came out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I think this recipe could have used a little more sugar. That having been said, I ended up with a lot of it after Thanksgiving and had it for breakfast every day with a little half & half poured over top until I finished it. I love pudding any way I can get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States