Pumpkin Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
I LOVED IT!!! It is a FANTASTIC way to use up the pumpkin frozen after Halloween-Pumpkin is VERY nutritious, and my kids were a little leary at first because of the color, and they thought pumpkin was only for pie- but one taste and they were hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Really great flavor! I am using it as an app. on Thanksgiving. It takes a little practice to make the ravioli pretty if you have never made them before. I even made the recipe non-dairy by using a little tofu 'sour cream' instead of the cheese and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Loved this pasta. It really helps to have a Cuisinart to kneed the dough, a pasta machine to roll it out (works WONDERS) and a pastry wheel. Since I have all three of these tools, this was a breeze to make. I have also made a lot of other homemade pasta. If you have never made it, give it a try but set aside some "learing time" to get used to the process. I used Mace instead of nutmeg as it is a bit warmer. I used regular canned sauce and it was yummy. Worth the work. The only thing I need to practice is not getting air into the pockets as the ravioli floats to the top then. I also had a few "blow out" while boilding. You'll want to gently simmer this to keep the ravioli pillows intact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ysidro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I give these a 5 mainly for the dough, which my husband and I intend to use in the future with other fillings and red sauce. However, I did think these were a tiny bit on the bland side, and found myself salting my dish during dinner. I ended up using almost a cup and a half of ricotta and I doubled the pumpkin (1/2 cup just seemed like so little for a recipe featuring pumpkin as the main attraction). I used a bit more salt in the filling. For those who found this recipe too bland, I would suggest tasting everything along to way- a little extra seasoning saved the end result, in our case. We'll make these again, possibly with some of our own changes. I served these with the suggested pumpkin seed sauce from this site. (I made lots of changes to the sauce, too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Haven't tried this recipe but an easy trick to make it easier is to use wanton skins available in any grocery store instead of makeing dough from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This didn't really have much of a pumpkin taste at all when boiling the pasta, which kind of surprised us. (I made it with my SIL for dinner tonight.) We didn't use the recipe for the pasta itself--just the filling--we made a basic egg pasta for the pasta. We had to sub mozzarella for the cheese (we forgot the pasta would need filled right away and didn't have time to run to the store). I wasn't really sure what "tender" meant in terms of the pasta, so I just winged it. It was ready in about 15-20 minutes. We also tried baking the ravioli--which took about 20 min in a 350 degree oven. They turned out really crisp, like pizza bites, and we could taste the pumpkin in those. Although the baked ones definitely need sauce when baked!--we served with spaghetti sauce, and it was good. We knew that this would take a lot of time, and we had a lot of fun making the pasta, so we thought it was worth it. My SIL, not the biggest fan of pumpkin, liked these. So did my brother and the bf. So I count it as a success. Certainly not something I'd make every day (I'm no ravioli expert by any means and don't often have that much time) but fun when you have the time to make pasta from scratch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This recipe has been repeatedly used for making pasta dough (I have yet to make the ravioli, though.). With just a little bit more flour added to the recipe, my bread machine did all of the work in preparing this dough. Then, I prepared it using my Kitchen aid pasta attachments to create fettucini. Thank you so much for submitting such a great recipe. I'll be sure to make it into ravioli in the future as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1GoodCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made this by hand on Saturday night and my husband and I loved it so much that on Sunday we purchased the pasta roller for our Kitchen Aid and made it again (which was a lot easier). I made the recipe exactly as written and it was very good. I'll definitely be making it again and again. There were no left overs two nights in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I made this recipe last night and it was absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States