Pumpkin Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This recipe was delicious! I changed a few things. In the filling i added a 1/4 cup of cream cheese, stated previously in another review. The dough was alittle "doughy", so I let the ravioli dry in the fridge before cooking them. The sauce: in a pan,saute garlic, add the 1/2 cup pumpkin puree and 1 cup heavy cream, a dash of lemon juice, and season with salt,pepper and italian seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I give this recipe 4 stars because the flavors are delicious, but it can easily be a 5 star dish by adding some changes. to the mixture: 1) I added a teaspoon of minced garlic to give it a more savory flavor 2) added a 1/4 cup of cream cheese (i like my ravioli really cheesy). The cream cheese perfectly complemented the pumpkin flavor 3) I used pumpkin pie mix instead of straight pumpkin puree. The Sauce: Instead of the recommended sauce, I used the remaining pumpkin pie mix to make a pumpkin sage cream sauce. It was absolutely delicious. Just mix in a shallow pan or skillet a 1/2 a cup of pumpkin pie mix with a cup of heavy cream. Add 1/4 cup of romano cheese. Chopped some sage leaves and put it into the mix. Add pepper and salt and stir the mixture. Let the sauce simmer for a few minutes until the sauce thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Haven't tried this recipe but an easy trick to make it easier is to use wanton skins available in any grocery store instead of makeing dough from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I give these a 5 mainly for the dough, which my husband and I intend to use in the future with other fillings and red sauce. However, I did think these were a tiny bit on the bland side, and found myself salting my dish during dinner. I ended up using almost a cup and a half of ricotta and I doubled the pumpkin (1/2 cup just seemed like so little for a recipe featuring pumpkin as the main attraction). I used a bit more salt in the filling. For those who found this recipe too bland, I would suggest tasting everything along to way- a little extra seasoning saved the end result, in our case. We'll make these again, possibly with some of our own changes. I served these with the suggested pumpkin seed sauce from this site. (I made lots of changes to the sauce, too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I had never made ravioli before and this was a very simple recipe to follow. Not quite 5 stars becuase the dough was a little "doughy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Loved this pasta. It really helps to have a Cuisinart to kneed the dough, a pasta machine to roll it out (works WONDERS) and a pastry wheel. Since I have all three of these tools, this was a breeze to make. I have also made a lot of other homemade pasta. If you have never made it, give it a try but set aside some "learing time" to get used to the process. I used Mace instead of nutmeg as it is a bit warmer. I used regular canned sauce and it was yummy. Worth the work. The only thing I need to practice is not getting air into the pockets as the ravioli floats to the top then. I also had a few "blow out" while boilding. You'll want to gently simmer this to keep the ravioli pillows intact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ysidro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Concept of tomatoe past in the pasta sounded like a good idea, but when all was said and done (and there was alot of doing, having to make the ravioli from scratch), it was really kind of bland. None of my kids would eat it, and the Pumpkin seed sauce was runny. Would not spend the time making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
This is good only for people who have a few extra hours on their hands to make something that ultimately tastes... interesting... but not really all that good. Like a lot of things in life, I appreciated the experience, but I'll never do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brook Park, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Delicious. Hard to roll out, but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Great variation from regular raviolis! wasn't too crazy about the pumpkin seed cream sauce, but with another one, it'll be a bigger hit, I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Barrington, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States