Pumpkin Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made this by hand on Saturday night and my husband and I loved it so much that on Sunday we purchased the pasta roller for our Kitchen Aid and made it again (which was a lot easier). I made the recipe exactly as written and it was very good. I'll definitely be making it again and again. There were no left overs two nights in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This recipe has inspired me to turn it into a desert using wanton wraps. Add sugar and vanilla to the punpkin mixture and deep fry. Sprinkle with powered sugar and serve warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This recipe has been repeatedly used for making pasta dough (I have yet to make the ravioli, though.). With just a little bit more flour added to the recipe, my bread machine did all of the work in preparing this dough. Then, I prepared it using my Kitchen aid pasta attachments to create fettucini. Thank you so much for submitting such a great recipe. I'll be sure to make it into ravioli in the future as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1GoodCooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This didn't really have much of a pumpkin taste at all when boiling the pasta, which kind of surprised us. (I made it with my SIL for dinner tonight.) We didn't use the recipe for the pasta itself--just the filling--we made a basic egg pasta for the pasta. We had to sub mozzarella for the cheese (we forgot the pasta would need filled right away and didn't have time to run to the store). I wasn't really sure what "tender" meant in terms of the pasta, so I just winged it. It was ready in about 15-20 minutes. We also tried baking the ravioli--which took about 20 min in a 350 degree oven. They turned out really crisp, like pizza bites, and we could taste the pumpkin in those. Although the baked ones definitely need sauce when baked!--we served with spaghetti sauce, and it was good. We knew that this would take a lot of time, and we had a lot of fun making the pasta, so we thought it was worth it. My SIL, not the biggest fan of pumpkin, liked these. So did my brother and the bf. So I count it as a success. Certainly not something I'd make every day (I'm no ravioli expert by any means and don't often have that much time) but fun when you have the time to make pasta from scratch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe and I followed it exactly. The dough was easy to work with and I rolled it out with a rolling pin. The first half I made traditional square ravioli style following the directions, and the second half I used a biscuit cutter to make 2-in circles of dough and sealed them up like calzones. This was easier, but re-rolling the extra scraps after cutting is tricky because they are very elastic and need to rest again. I had about 1/3 cup of filling leftover at the end--my raviolis didn't seem underfilled but maybe I just rolled my dough out thicker than I should have. I boiled the raviolis gently in small batches and took them out with a slotted spoon when they floated to the top (about 5 min or less). Not a single one burst, and I was pretty worried that they weren't sealed very well by the looks of them. I topped them with a plain marinara and fresh chopped parsley. My preschool age boys (who helped me make them) gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covelo, California, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Used this recipe filling as is, but made simple egg noodle pasta sheets with the Kitchenaide for the ravioli. Topped with melted butter and Parmesan cheese. Next time I will try adding a clove of garlic and some Parmesan to the filling for a little more flavor. But overall nice simple meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! I made the following substitutions: used a combination of homemade kefir-based ricotta-type cheese and store-bought Neufchatel to replace all the ricotta in the recipe and used tomato sauce instead of tomato paste (it's what I had). I just didn't need to add any water to the pasta dough. I've often made noodles from scratch before, but this was my 1st time making ravioli. It was time-consuming, but a fun project for my 6 yo to help with. Just make sure you dry the ravioli as directed before boiling...otherwise, you'll end up with the filling leaking out into the pasta water (like I did). This is definitely going into my regular recipe rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I made this using won ton wrappers instead of making my own pasta. As per some other reviews I added a little cream cheese, some onion powder and garlic powder. I made the pumpkin/cream/sage sauce suggested by another reviewer, only I sauteed some shallots and garlic before adding the rest of the ingredients. We really enjoyed it! Will definitely make this again - though only as a special treat since it's not exactly health food with that cream sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I was surprised by how red the pasta was! By using my ravioli maker, I had no trouble filling the pasta, and I realized that the process would take a while! With my frozen pumpkin, there was not much pumpkin taste, so I will be using the canned variety next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States