Pumpkin Ravioli with Hazelnut Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Really great. I agree with the reviewer who said to cut butter in half. I did not use this sauce but used a brown butter sage sauce recipe from marthastewart.com. I had a ton of filling leftover. I think making the fresh pasta in a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was soooo goood. It took half the day to make, but was so well worth it!!! I had left over filling, so I used the larger shell pasta, filling them then baking. We could have had this for several nights in a row and loved it every night !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Flavor-wise, wonderful and tasty! Ease of preparation, however, is not! This was my first time attempting ravioli and I tried hand-making pasta.. Hmm, that was an epic fail! I bought wonton wrappers from the grocery store and those were much easier to work with. They stuck together when I boiled them, though, and I basically had to make a ruined-ravioli "casserole". It tasted wonderful though. I will try these again when I have more patience with myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I used this as a base to make something a bit different but very good. I used jumbo pasta shells and stuffed them with the pumpkin mixture. I used a little EVOO instead of butter. I had some cooked spaghetti squash and added that to the mixture instead of the carrots. I added diced chicken. I used cinnamon and a pinch of ginger. I used the heavy cream sauce and added a jar of spaghetti sauce to it. I omitted the hazelnuts altogether cuz I didn't know how that would tatse. I also added fresh spinach to it in the very end instead of the sorrel. I poured the sauce over the stuffed shells and baked it in the oven for about 30 min. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin with Keith & Sara
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
We followed all the directions. We did substitute the nutmeg for mace and fresh ginger for cardamom. The stuffing was very flavorful. The sauce was a little plain so, we added a few fav spices, we also did'nt have sorrel so we put some fresh baby spinach.. The only step we skiped was rubbing the nuts?... We ground the Halzelnuts too. Turned out great! We had a ton of extra stuffing so grabed some jumbo shells and suprised everyone at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin with Keith & Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Great recipe, definitely restaurant quality! I took the hint from other reviewers and used large shells and spinach, which cut down on the time and cost of this meal. The sauce is great, even though it made me nervous to put cream over high heat, it came out fine! The colors in this dish make it an entirely impressive vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Very good. I have been searching for the ultimate pumpkin ravioli for years after having had it while traveling. I would say that the hazelnuts are unnecessary (and so time consuming anyway). I used a lot of spinach instead of the sorrel and substituted large shells. Next time I'll only fill each shell about half full, as I found the filling to pasta ratio a bit high when completely stuffed. Very close to "the one". Definitely recommend a white sauce not tomato based or even a pesto on this one (and the one included here is pretty good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
did not like this. it was the toasted hazelnuts that didn't sit well with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Loved this recipe. I did follow some other suggestions and replace the sorrel with spinach, but otherwise I still made the ravioli with my homemade pasta dough. It was great! I did have extra filling at the end so I froze it for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I made this recipe for several functions in the last few months. It has received rave reviews. It takes some time to prepare, but your guests will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States