Pumpkin Ravioli Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
My boyfriend was excited to try out this new recipe last night but it wasn't quite what we expected. Two teaspoons of Cayenne was way too spicy for us and we like our spice. One teaspoon of cayeene would have been plenty. Also, the sauce was not as saucy as we would like. It was very chunky and thick. We added more broth but it was still quite thick. Not sure if i'd try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmoney
Home Town: Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I agree with the sauce being way too spicy. I liked the pumpkin flavor but it does need a little thinning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
way too spicy!! and we prefer a little less thyme. but we are going to cut back on the pepper and spices and see what that does for it. great potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I personally expected more from this recipe. I really love a good pumpkin recipe but it was not a very good flavor. I did add some heavy cream to the recipe which helped a little. I really would not recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTY72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Newton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I should have read the reviews first. We love spice, but this was way too spicy. I suggest that you use only half the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I am a huge fun of anything pumpkin, and I liked this super fast and easy recipe. *However, in the interest of full disclosure, I used half broth and half almond milk.* I am not sure how it would be with all water. I used Celentano brand light cheese ravioli. The heat level was fine with me, I actually also added some crushed red pepper, but I like this on the searingly spicy side. I would def make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
When I first found this recipe I knew that despite the bad reviews I had to try it! It sounded so unique! I didn't have the pumpkin pie filling on hand, but DID have 100% pure pumpkin, so I knew I would need to add in some sugar, salt, cinnamon, ginger, ground cloves and nutmeg. I read the submitters indication that they prefer things spicy so I kept that in mind and scaled back the cayenne. I also knew I wanted it to have some more depth than just chicken broth so I did a mixture of chicken broth (1 cup) and heavy cream (4 Tbsp). It was very tasty but I thought it needed a little something extra. I rummaged around in my fridge and found some ground sausage I had previously cooked...I added in about 1/2 cup and gave it another taste...OMG yum!!!! Don't allow the bad reviews to sway you, made right it's really yummy! I think next time I may add in a bit of brie cheese for extra creaminess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I made this for the first time tonight. I was a little iffy about it due to the questionable reviews. However, I thought it was delicious! And my roommate and his friend both devoured it, loving every bite! I added a little sugar, cinnamon, and all spice to sweeten it up a little. But other than that, followed the recipe exactly. Unlike some of the others I had no problem with too thick of a sauce or with it being too spicy. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Farmstand Ravioli with Zucchini

Prepared cheese ravioli simmer in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Pumpkin Pasta

See how to turn canned pumpkin puree into a creamy pasta sauce.

St. Louis Toasted Ravioli

Breaded ravioli are fried and served with marinara sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States