Pumpkin Raisin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
These aren't scones - but they're wonderful "muffin" like treats. I omitted the raisins and added butterscotch chips instead. I also used a small cookie scoop and baked them for 15 minutes. They were cookie size and the perfect size for my sons school snacks. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Great mix of flavors. I love this recipe easy & quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
These were AWESOME! I love scones, being something of a coffeehouse hanger-outer, and they make a perfect quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn McGlothin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
LOVE!! this are great, mabie they dont taste like a scone but they are way more moist and taste better then any scone I have ever tasted. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
The taste was great. They are more like muffins than scones as stated, but very quick and easy. I soaked the raisins in orange juice to moisten them before mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buffalochef
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
As you may see from other ratings... I change up most every recipe. this one, I dont care for raisins so I substituted dried cranberrys, forgot to put sugar/cinn on top for baking.... and they were delicious any way. I also thought 36 were way too many for two of us... wrong. I made 3 or 4 tablespoon sized and its a nice single serving... Anyway, I scaled in 1/2 then made another batch this am. (while coffee was brewing... they are that easy!) This time I jested a small amount of a Clemintine orange into the dough, Pushing them to 5 stars. These are a must save for pumpkin, scone, muffin or just fun treat lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buffalochef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made some modifications to the recipe. I mixed all dry ingredients together, cut in 1/2 cup cold butter until coarse crumbs, then mixed in the raisins and nut. In a separate bowl I whisked the eggs and pumpkin puree together, then added to the dry ingredients, just until blended. I divided the dough into 3 equal parts and rolled each into rounds, then cut each into 8 wedges. I brushed each scone with milk then sprinkled the cinn/sugar mixture on top. These were quite yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Yummy! This is a perfect way for using pumpkin. Hubby can get enough of them! The only change I made was following the advice of one of the posters who said to make it like a regular scone and used only butter since I did not have any applesauce on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerSnap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kajuri Reinholdt
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Once I bit into one, I knew I had to have seconds; very delicious. I recommend using demerara (raw) sugar in the cinnamon/sugar blend for sprinkling on top before baking. I passed these around at a church function and got rave reviews, even after a few days in an air-tight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kajuri Reinholdt

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
i rate these only a 4 b/c i didn't follow the recipe as written. instead i took another reviewers advice on how to make these more scone-like. i also didn't have any raisins so i left those out, but will definitely try them next time. the end result is so good!! perfect texture and sweetness. i may play around w/ the spices a little more next time, but this is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States