Pumpkin Raisin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These were delicious! I substituted half the sugar for brown sugar and used margarine instead of butter. Had a soft more muffin-like texture but i didn't mind. Definitely will make these again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
These were definitely more like muffin-y cookies than scones. I would give them 4 stars if they weren't called scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great flavor. Texture is a bit tough, but it did not stop my family from gobbling these up! I followed the suggestions from previous reviewers and cut the butter into the mixed dry ingredients first, then adding the moist ingredients and trying not to over-mix. Next time, I will add a little milk, use melted butter mixed with the eggs & pumpkin, and try making them as muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Delicious! I followed the instructions provided by Baker-@-Heart which produces traditional wedge shaped scones (except I use dried cranberries for the raisins and I divide the dough in half and flatten each half to about an 8" round and cut 8 wedges). I just baked my 3rd batch of these and I can't wait for them to cool a bit to eat one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Made it exactly as written and it was great. Very fast and easy. Definitely a dense muffin consistency but very very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This was a fun and simple recipe and the results were yummy! I substituted the sugar with 3 packets of Stevia (Truvia brand if you care to know) and I think next time I may use 4. I was 3/4 cup short of pumpkin puree so I used extra applesauce (homemade with a touch of stevia and cinnamon). I left out the nuts and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. These are very light and more bread or muffin-like than scones which I prefer to be dense and heavy. Still the flavor was great and my kids and I really enjoy them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serendipity414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Yum! I halved the recipe but inadvertently used the full amount of pumpkin. They were still good, so I can only imagine how yummy they will be when I make them properly :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
These are more like a puffy cookie. I would not call them scones. So disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonjour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
These are definitely more like a muffin--I wouldn't call them scones at all. I ended up baking them in muffin tins, and it took 20 minutes to bake them. I didn't have raisins, so I subbed craisins, but there weren't that many in the pantry so not all of the muffins had the craisins. I also forgot to sprinkle the muffins, but they are actually quite sweet so didn't really need it anyway. To make these "real" scones you'd need to add more flour I'd think--scones are a lot drier. I really did like these, though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Let me start by saying that I am neither a big pumpkin or raisin fan. My husband loves it but even I liked these scones. They were light and airy and not at all dense as some scones can be. I substituted splenda baking sugar mix for the regular sugar and also used pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon instead of all the other spices. I also used regular all purpose flour. I made a smaller batch of 12 because I wanted to test the recipe first. I will say these are comfort food to the max. On a cool day with some nice hot chocolate or coffee you can't get any better. Bravo to the contributor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States