Pumpkin Raisin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
The kids really liked these...they made very convenient after-school snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Baked these scones without raisens for breakfast this morning. My wife and I loved them. They are soft and chewy with a mild spicy sweet taste similar to our favorite pumpkin cookies. I used a large spoon that made 12 large scones each about 3 inches in diameter. I left out the raisens because my wife dosen't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Miehm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This recipe is awesome! And I don't feel totally guilty eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Very nice taste and super easy to make. I did not give this a 5 star rating because I really really really didn't want anything Cakey. I specifically wanted to make scones. If I knew it was going to be this way I would have saved myself quite a bit of time and put the batter in some muffin pans. This recipe as is would make a very tender and tasteful pumpkin muffin that I would easily rate as 5 stars. However this is NOT the consistency of scones :-( Really disappointed... they resemble large spongey cookies :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I did not care for this recipe... they did not turn out like scones. They were more like very dry muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I followed Baker-@-Heart's suggestion of not creaming the butter and sugar, but rather cutting cold butter into the dry ingredients like I've done with other scone recipes. I halved the recipe and did add the applesauce, doubled the butter and added an extra half cup of flour. Flavor was excellent, texture was good - not quite as crumbly as I liked, a bit more moist yet not muffin-like either. I omitted raisins, but kept the pecans, and sprinkled with raw sugar crystals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
good but nothing special. just a flat pumpkin cupcake. not the more crumbly version that i'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Fabulous, quick, and easy! I didn't have raisins and didn't miss 'em. My toddler and 7 month old also loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
These were absolutely delicious, everyone loved them and I didn't change a thing. I used unsweetened applesauce. I called them "Pumpkin Muffin Tops." :) Don't forget the cinnamon-sugar on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
These scones were easy to make and tasted delicious. I cut down on the sugar and used cranberries. Even though I overcooked them, a girlfriend thought they were excellent and took some home. A very nice treat. Next time I'm going to put some icing sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States