Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Simple, easy instructions for the first time pumpkin pureer, a trick to this is too not let the pumpkin get cold before scooping out the pumpkin meat..once its cold it gets hard to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
384 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERGRAY04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I found the best way to make pumpkin puree is to cut the pumpkin into small chunks, cover them with water, and simmer them for about 30 minutes until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melhenn27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I just used some of the pumpkin from my jack o lantern, and zapped it in the microwave for 9 minutes. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
el perfecto! This is absolutely simple and easy to make. I purchased two (of what I believe to be) sugar pumpkins from the local farmers market. The are grey. This worked perfect. Two pumpkins, apprx 12 in in diameter made roughly a gallon of pumpkin puree. I had four halves and roasted them in the oven for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. the two in the very back where like baked sweet potatoes, flaky and fluffy. The two in the front where not as done , chunky, and worked just as well. Scoop out the pulp and put it in a blender. I attempted to strain the puree only to find out that I didn't need to. It was perfect. Thanks gidget for the helpful tip on pumpkin puree. For $2 at the farmers market I have enough pumpkin puree to make 16 pumpkin pies using two cups of puree per pie! Beautiful Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEIFFER007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
There are lots of ways to do this. Personally I line a pan with foil, cut my pumpkin in half horizontally (whatever kind, I've used sugar pumpkins, pie pumpkins, and even some sort of fat mystery pumpkin), remove the insides, spray PAM on the foil, put the pumpkin cut-side down, and roast that baby for an hour or so. After an hour I lift the edge of the side with the stem and poke the pumpkin flesh gently with a fork. If it feels like a baked potato, I take it out, if not, I keep baking it until it DOES feel like a baked potato. I let the hot pumpkin rest about 15 minutes before I take a spoon and scoop out the flesh. I mash it while it's hot, but pureeing is probably even better - I just have never needed to. Your baking time will vary quite a bit based on the temperature of your pumpkin going in - if you were storing it on the porch then it's going to take longer because the pumpkin is colder :=) Thanks for the recipe! (Note: sometimes the emptied out pumpkin shell will dry hard and crisp, and the empty shell can be put back out on the porch as long as it stays cold outside in your environment! This varies based on species of pumpkin, whether or not you cooked it long enough to harden but not blister the skin, and how well you scraped it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I started baking the pumpkin in the oven this year as arthritis restricts me from cutting chunks and boiling. (Which is much quicker) The one thing the original poster has not mentioned is draining the puree, pumpkin has lots of water and needs draining. I have never had probs with stringy bits as it is pureed in blender. I let it sit in a seive for a few hours to get out as much water as possible, if you do not do this step when you thaw out your pumpkin you will lose some to fluid and your recipes will have too much liquid. DRAIN...drain ....and drain....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
I tried the baking method but I guess my pumpkin was too big; it took at least 4 hours for the pumpkin to get soft on the inside. So for extra pumpkin puree this Halloween, I used fresh, peeled Jack-o-lantern pumpkin and boiled it (small saucepan, over low heat, 2-3 hours for the water to boil down to the bottom, or around 30-40 minutes for the pumpkin to turn soft) with a bit of sugar mixed into the water. Then I blended it and there were no stringy bits, it worked great! I don't suppose I'd add the sugar if I was making soup or bread, but it was good for muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This was very good to get me started, as I had never pureed pumpkin before. But, my small-sized sugar pumpkin was still rock hard after baking for 1 hour and that was cut into little chunks. Instead I boiled the chucks until soft, then used a hand held blender to puree the pumpkin. I imagine if I had more patience baking the pumpkin would work too. Thank for you getting me headed in the right direction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Really very easy to make, fitting a large pumpkin into a tiny oven was the greater part of the hassle!! Come the fall time, I add butter and a couple spoonfuls of brown sugar and we spread it on toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Good recipe but you MUST drain the pumpkin overnight in a cheesecloth or paper towel lined strainer. You will drain a lot of water out of the pumpkin puree and you will left with a nice, dense puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States