Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Used a 12-15 lb medium sized jacko-lantern pumpkin and just boiled it. Scooped out flesh and put in colander to drain and pressed down until most liquid was gone. Put into food processor and made very nice pumpkin butter and empanada filling. Put well drained pulp into freezer bags. I will not stop buying canned pumpkin but will never toss out another carving pumpkin ever again. Saves $$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Photo by DaMora
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I needed to cook the pumpkin for about an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaMora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Sugar pumpkins aren't that large and Jack-O-Lantern pumpkins aren't sugar pumpkins. The best flavour is from the smaller sugar pumpkins. Boiling pumpkin just makes it soggy. Baking (or microwaving) is much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Worked great - I put a little water in the bottom of the cut halves and it helped but may make for a liquidy puree. I'll freeze them in 1 cup amounts and use as needed. Thanks for the very easy no peeling or chopping pumpkin puree!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Although this seems simple enough, unfortunately, simplicity is not always the solution. After scraping out the flesh, you have to process the pulp in a food processer or a very good blender in order to achieve a smooth puree result. To make it right, it will take TIME. Cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I've used only fresh pumpkin for pies for over 25 years and have tried numerous methods. I prefer to use regular Jack O'lantern pumpkins, the larger the better, and the easiest way by far is to cut them into several large sections, place in your electric roaster with a small amount of water and roast for about 1 hour. Remove lid and let cool so they can be handled and the peel will come off with your fingers, not even needing a knife. Puree in a food processor or blender, squeezing out as much water as possible before blending. Put in freezer bags and have pumpkin pies all year long, which are of a lighter more custardy consistency than canned. If you purchase the pumpkins immediately after Halloween they can be purchased for next to nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I combined the recipes with another I read and it turned out perfectly. I heated the oven to 325. I cut the pumpkin in half (just a regular jack-o-lantern). I removed the insides. I put the pumpkin in a dish with a little water in the bottom of the pan to keep it moist and then covered with foil. I baked for right around an hour. When I pulled it out I immediately scooped out the pumpkin as others suggested it was easier while still hot. I used a hand mixer. It worked out nicely. Using what I consider a medium size pumpkin, I got 3 bags of 2 cups each puree. That will make 3 pies going by a recipe I found on here for fresh pumpkin pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is a great idea. I used the two pumpkins we carved for Halloween to make it and it was enough for several recipes. It stays great in the freezer and makes my baking more moist. I love it!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gothic.girlie
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
A little time consuming to use the blender, but the puree came out perfect!! Easy and wonderful. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gothic.girlie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States