Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Works with other squashes as well, such as butternut or even acorn squash. A DO PREFER TO USE A CROCKPOT SO I DON'T HAVE TO WATCH THE TIME SO CLOSELY, but this is basically what we do too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Thanks for posting this. It is very easy and simple to make. Just make sure you completely cover each pumpkin piece with foil, which will allow it to cook much faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I started out using this method and then tried using the microwave oven. Use a sharp knife to poke several holes through the wall of the pumpkinby pushing the knife all the way to the center of the pumpkin as if you were going to care the pumpkin and this will assure that your pumpkin does not burst while cooking because this allows the steam to escape. Place on a micorwae dish and use the baked potato setting or cook and test like you would for a baked potato. (pinch test). The pumkin will be soft to the touch just like a baked potato When cool enough to handle cut the pumpin in half and it will be very easy to scoop the seeds out and then scoop the flesh out using a sturdy metal serving spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
very Good - better in pie than in bread. Yummy with fresh pumpkin pie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I steam my pumpkins. First cut them in chunks, place in steamer for about 30 minutes, or until tender. Cool until you can handle, then peel. I puree in food processor. Then dump it in a sieve to drain off excess liquid. Llet it drain for a couple hours. You won't believe how much liquid drains off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Photo by Diane Cullum
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was my first time trying this and it was very easy. The hardest part was cutting the rock hard pumpkin in half. My husband had a time of it because the pumpkin was as hard as a bowling ball. I wasn't sure it would be any good. I was out of foil so put the cut side down. It worked fine. I even forgot to spray the pan but it didn't stick. It was perfectly done in a little over an hour. I scooped it out right away and into the blender. Mine is very high powered so the puree came out smooth and looks just like canned pumpkin. From 1 small pumpkin, I ended up with 4 cups of puree. Yea now I can make pumpkin pie or bars or something yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is a much easier way to get the meat out of pumpkin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reutlingen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I instead of wrapping the tops of the halve spray some pam on the cookie sheet and place the halves face down and tent the whole sheet, and bake for an hour, the pumpkin meat just slides right out on its own once cooled (just dont forget to cool them with the cut side up) ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Easiest, best way to puree a pumpkin. So much tastier than storebought/canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Worked great except the time was more around 2 hours. I also used my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States