Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I steam my pumpkins. First cut them in chunks, place in steamer for about 30 minutes, or until tender. Cool until you can handle, then peel. I puree in food processor. Then dump it in a sieve to drain off excess liquid. Llet it drain for a couple hours. You won't believe how much liquid drains off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was my first time trying this and it was very easy. The hardest part was cutting the rock hard pumpkin in half. My husband had a time of it because the pumpkin was as hard as a bowling ball. I wasn't sure it would be any good. I was out of foil so put the cut side down. It worked fine. I even forgot to spray the pan but it didn't stick. It was perfectly done in a little over an hour. I scooped it out right away and into the blender. Mine is very high powered so the puree came out smooth and looks just like canned pumpkin. From 1 small pumpkin, I ended up with 4 cups of puree. Yea now I can make pumpkin pie or bars or something yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is a much easier way to get the meat out of pumpkin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reutlingen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I instead of wrapping the tops of the halve spray some pam on the cookie sheet and place the halves face down and tent the whole sheet, and bake for an hour, the pumpkin meat just slides right out on its own once cooled (just dont forget to cool them with the cut side up) ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Easiest, best way to puree a pumpkin. So much tastier than storebought/canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Worked great except the time was more around 2 hours. I also used my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was absolutely what I needed. I followed the recipe exact and had no issues. Excellent way for me to get non-processed pumpkin puree for recipes. Thanks for sharing this recipe. And yes, scraping out the pumpkin while it's still hot, good tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I followed this method exactly, except that I cut my pumpkin into four parts. I ended up baking them for about an hour and 15 min. This was my first time making pumpkin puree and I am very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
this is an easy method. i cut the pumpkins into about 8-10 pieces and then place in a steamer basket. i really don't know how long they steam - i just keep checking them until they are done. remove from the steamer and they are quite easy to peel at that point. then just place in a food processor, or whatever method you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is the easiest way I know to make my own pumpkin. I have been doing it this way for years. It also works very well with any kind of squash - acorn, butternut, spagetthi - I make almost all of my "pumpkin" pies with acorn squash and they turn out fantastic! I find though that I prefer to pack my pumpkin/squash just as it after it is baked and puree it when it has thawed from the freezer otherwise it gets to watery, but that is my own personal experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uppermich
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States