Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I grew about 70 organic pumpkins this year and after giving many away to friends, family, our FFA program, I still had a LOT of pumpkins left over! I had never made pumpkin puree before, and was worried it would taste different than what my family is used to - Libby's. NO!! I used Howden and Cinderella pumpkins. Definitely bake them until soft and mushy which takes a long time, but worth it. The pumpkins get a wonderful carmelized taste. After peeling the skin off, I put the chunks in a colandar to drain off any additional liquid before putting them in the blender for a velvety smooth consistency. I've already made several recipes using pumpkin from this site! A lot cheaper (and actually taste better) than the canned stuff. Never going back!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe and found I needed to alter it a bit. It was a big pumpkin so I doubled the cooking time. Also I found the puree to be very smooth after I used a blender. It was a very bright yellow and to thin so I reduced it for a few hours on low, stirring frequently. the end result was a nice orange, thick pumpkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent!! I've always used canned pumpkin before, but this was so easy. I bought two pie pumpkins today and they were about 3-4 pounds each, needed to cook about 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I just did this for the first time and I'm so glad it turned out so well! I used a large jack-o-lantern pumpkin. Mine took closer to 2 hours in the oven, but it pureed beautifully in the food processor. I ended up with a gallon container of pumpkin puree!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daniellehively

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Lovely method. Much better pre-cutting into smaller pieces and boiling or steaming. Will use this method often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
So easy! Just scraped it off with a fork, then blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Works with other squashes as well, such as butternut or even acorn squash. A DO PREFER TO USE A CROCKPOT SO I DON'T HAVE TO WATCH THE TIME SO CLOSELY, but this is basically what we do too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Thanks for posting this. It is very easy and simple to make. Just make sure you completely cover each pumpkin piece with foil, which will allow it to cook much faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I started out using this method and then tried using the microwave oven. Use a sharp knife to poke several holes through the wall of the pumpkinby pushing the knife all the way to the center of the pumpkin as if you were going to care the pumpkin and this will assure that your pumpkin does not burst while cooking because this allows the steam to escape. Place on a micorwae dish and use the baked potato setting or cook and test like you would for a baked potato. (pinch test). The pumkin will be soft to the touch just like a baked potato When cool enough to handle cut the pumpin in half and it will be very easy to scoop the seeds out and then scoop the flesh out using a sturdy metal serving spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
very Good - better in pie than in bread. Yummy with fresh pumpkin pie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States