Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Really simple and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Very simple, very easy, and makes a wonderful puree that can be a healthy substitue to canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
I tried the baking method but I guess my pumpkin was too big; it took at least 4 hours for the pumpkin to get soft on the inside. So for extra pumpkin puree this Halloween, I used fresh, peeled Jack-o-lantern pumpkin and boiled it (small saucepan, over low heat, 2-3 hours for the water to boil down to the bottom, or around 30-40 minutes for the pumpkin to turn soft) with a bit of sugar mixed into the water. Then I blended it and there were no stringy bits, it worked great! I don't suppose I'd add the sugar if I was making soup or bread, but it was good for muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
Very easy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I just used some of the pumpkin from my jack o lantern, and zapped it in the microwave for 9 minutes. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This was simple and worked great. I used smaller (softball-size) pumpkins and put them in the fridge overnight. This made the flesh easier to scrape out and allowed the shells to harden again. Had I thought about this ahead of time, I could have used the shells for presentation (like small bowls or poured wax into them to make candles).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Bermes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Simple, easy instructions for the first time pumpkin pureer, a trick to this is too not let the pumpkin get cold before scooping out the pumpkin meat..once its cold it gets hard to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERGRAY04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This was very good to get me started, as I had never pureed pumpkin before. But, my small-sized sugar pumpkin was still rock hard after baking for 1 hour and that was cut into little chunks. Instead I boiled the chucks until soft, then used a hand held blender to puree the pumpkin. I imagine if I had more patience baking the pumpkin would work too. Thank for you getting me headed in the right direction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
el perfecto! This is absolutely simple and easy to make. I purchased two (of what I believe to be) sugar pumpkins from the local farmers market. The are grey. This worked perfect. Two pumpkins, apprx 12 in in diameter made roughly a gallon of pumpkin puree. I had four halves and roasted them in the oven for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. the two in the very back where like baked sweet potatoes, flaky and fluffy. The two in the front where not as done , chunky, and worked just as well. Scoop out the pulp and put it in a blender. I attempted to strain the puree only to find out that I didn't need to. It was perfect. Thanks gidget for the helpful tip on pumpkin puree. For $2 at the farmers market I have enough pumpkin puree to make 16 pumpkin pies using two cups of puree per pie! Beautiful Job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Harden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I found the best way to make pumpkin puree is to cut the pumpkin into small chunks, cover them with water, and simmer them for about 30 minutes until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melhenn27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States