Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I like to cut the pumpkin in half, clean out the guts, put some water on the baking sheet and place the pumpkins open side down. This way they steam in their own skin and only the outside dries out, instead of all the flesh. Works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
There are lots of ways to do this. Personally I line a pan with foil, cut my pumpkin in half horizontally (whatever kind, I've used sugar pumpkins, pie pumpkins, and even some sort of fat mystery pumpkin), remove the insides, spray PAM on the foil, put the pumpkin cut-side down, and roast that baby for an hour or so. After an hour I lift the edge of the side with the stem and poke the pumpkin flesh gently with a fork. If it feels like a baked potato, I take it out, if not, I keep baking it until it DOES feel like a baked potato. I let the hot pumpkin rest about 15 minutes before I take a spoon and scoop out the flesh. I mash it while it's hot, but pureeing is probably even better - I just have never needed to. Your baking time will vary quite a bit based on the temperature of your pumpkin going in - if you were storing it on the porch then it's going to take longer because the pumpkin is colder :=) Thanks for the recipe! (Note: sometimes the emptied out pumpkin shell will dry hard and crisp, and the empty shell can be put back out on the porch as long as it stays cold outside in your environment! This varies based on species of pumpkin, whether or not you cooked it long enough to harden but not blister the skin, and how well you scraped it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Thank you for sharing this super easy recipe!! My pumpkin took about 1 hour & 15 mins until it was tender enough & I let it cool completely before scraping the flesh from the shell. I had no problem getting out & just pureed it with an immersion blender for a couple minutes until it was smooth. Could not be easier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Easy would not be my choice of words to describe this method. I followed the "recipe" to a "t" and had a hard time scraping the meat out. I am not sure I will use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lake Lotawana, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Used a 12-15 lb medium sized jacko-lantern pumpkin and just boiled it. Scooped out flesh and put in colander to drain and pressed down until most liquid was gone. Put into food processor and made very nice pumpkin butter and empanada filling. Put well drained pulp into freezer bags. I will not stop buying canned pumpkin but will never toss out another carving pumpkin ever again. Saves $$.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Photo by DaMora
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I needed to cook the pumpkin for about an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaMora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Sugar pumpkins aren't that large and Jack-O-Lantern pumpkins aren't sugar pumpkins. The best flavour is from the smaller sugar pumpkins. Boiling pumpkin just makes it soggy. Baking (or microwaving) is much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Worked great - I put a little water in the bottom of the cut halves and it helped but may make for a liquidy puree. I'll freeze them in 1 cup amounts and use as needed. Thanks for the very easy no peeling or chopping pumpkin puree!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Although this seems simple enough, unfortunately, simplicity is not always the solution. After scraping out the flesh, you have to process the pulp in a food processer or a very good blender in order to achieve a smooth puree result. To make it right, it will take TIME. Cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States