Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
froze great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
YEAH!!! I did it... before this recipie it had never really occured to me that you could get pumpkin from anywhere but the cans... I know pathetic, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Love processing my own pumpkin! It makes the best pumkin pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goofy_hobbit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Excellent recommendation. I suggest running it through the blender instead of losing the good fiber. I have grown pumpkins and many different types of squash for 40+ years. One year my pumpkins were devastated by hail but the squash survived. I used the squash for making 'pumpkin' pie and have used squash ever since. It is much more flavorful and brighter color. Guests do notice the added richness of flavor. Also, fill the oven with as many as will fit at a time - it is efficient use of the oven - also, do it when fall starts to get colder and take advantage of the warmth - eliminating the furnace being turned on until later in the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
There is no need to strain the puree. It is not watery at all. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I just cooked and puree'd about 12 pumpkins using your recipe and they turned out great! One tip though- The cooler the pumpkins are, the harder they are to blend without a lot of opening the lid and pushing it down, then starting again over and over. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I have used this recipe for a while. I recently learned that Libby's uses Dickerson pumpkins to make their puree. As you see in my photo there is a major color difference - the Sugar pumpkin is on the left and the Dickerson is on the right. The Dickerson is vibrant orange, has a sweet aroma and is quite flavorful. I'll never use Sugar pumpkin again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Wow - how easy to make your own fresh pumpkin puree. I had a 5 1/2# pumpkin and I got 6 cups of puree. I froze two 2-cup packages and two 1-cup packages. I had a little problem getting it to puree in the blender (no liquid) so after blending, I dumped in a bowl and also used a potato masher. I was pleased with the finished product. Most definitely will be doing with again with a couple more pumpkins. Thanks SYMKA for sharing these instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I don't like pumpkin , but I always make it as a baby food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Worked great. I had to double the time. The sugar pumpkin should have a weight on it on the recipe so that you will have an idea how much time it would take to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

How to Plan a Meatless Monday

Keep flavor and variety--and your favorite dishes--while cutting out meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States