Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Worked great - I put a little water in the bottom of the cut halves and it helped but may make for a liquidy puree. I'll freeze them in 1 cup amounts and use as needed. Thanks for the very easy no peeling or chopping pumpkin puree!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Although this seems simple enough, unfortunately, simplicity is not always the solution. After scraping out the flesh, you have to process the pulp in a food processer or a very good blender in order to achieve a smooth puree result. To make it right, it will take TIME. Cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I've used only fresh pumpkin for pies for over 25 years and have tried numerous methods. I prefer to use regular Jack O'lantern pumpkins, the larger the better, and the easiest way by far is to cut them into several large sections, place in your electric roaster with a small amount of water and roast for about 1 hour. Remove lid and let cool so they can be handled and the peel will come off with your fingers, not even needing a knife. Puree in a food processor or blender, squeezing out as much water as possible before blending. Put in freezer bags and have pumpkin pies all year long, which are of a lighter more custardy consistency than canned. If you purchase the pumpkins immediately after Halloween they can be purchased for next to nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I combined the recipes with another I read and it turned out perfectly. I heated the oven to 325. I cut the pumpkin in half (just a regular jack-o-lantern). I removed the insides. I put the pumpkin in a dish with a little water in the bottom of the pan to keep it moist and then covered with foil. I baked for right around an hour. When I pulled it out I immediately scooped out the pumpkin as others suggested it was easier while still hot. I used a hand mixer. It worked out nicely. Using what I consider a medium size pumpkin, I got 3 bags of 2 cups each puree. That will make 3 pies going by a recipe I found on here for fresh pumpkin pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is a great idea. I used the two pumpkins we carved for Halloween to make it and it was enough for several recipes. It stays great in the freezer and makes my baking more moist. I love it!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gothic.girlie
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
A little time consuming to use the blender, but the puree came out perfect!! Easy and wonderful. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gothic.girlie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This recipe was great! I used a regular pumpkin that had been an old fall decoration (not a Jack-O-Lantern). It turned out perfectly! This takes time but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Weber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Easy and simple; thank you! I used butternut squash instead of an actual pumpkin and it came out great for pumpkin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was so simple, I can't believe we haven't used our pumpkins in years past! I used 4 lb pumpkin, it took 1 hour and 15 minutes to be tender. It yielded about 4 cups of puree that tastes delicious on its own. Now we'll see if I can bake with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States