Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Easiest, best way to puree a pumpkin. So much tastier than storebought/canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pt Cundick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Worked great except the time was more around 2 hours. I also used my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was absolutely what I needed. I followed the recipe exact and had no issues. Excellent way for me to get non-processed pumpkin puree for recipes. Thanks for sharing this recipe. And yes, scraping out the pumpkin while it's still hot, good tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I followed this method exactly, except that I cut my pumpkin into four parts. I ended up baking them for about an hour and 15 min. This was my first time making pumpkin puree and I am very pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
this is an easy method. i cut the pumpkins into about 8-10 pieces and then place in a steamer basket. i really don't know how long they steam - i just keep checking them until they are done. remove from the steamer and they are quite easy to peel at that point. then just place in a food processor, or whatever method you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is the easiest way I know to make my own pumpkin. I have been doing it this way for years. It also works very well with any kind of squash - acorn, butternut, spagetthi - I make almost all of my "pumpkin" pies with acorn squash and they turn out fantastic! I find though that I prefer to pack my pumpkin/squash just as it after it is baked and puree it when it has thawed from the freezer otherwise it gets to watery, but that is my own personal experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uppermich
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Sugar pumpkins are rock hard -- unlike a carving pumpkin. No kitchen knife would work so my husband took them outside and used a hatchet to chop them in half. Proceed with the instructions. I found a food processor works real well for pureeing the pulp. Easy and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porter, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Good recipe but you MUST drain the pumpkin overnight in a cheesecloth or paper towel lined strainer. You will drain a lot of water out of the pumpkin puree and you will left with a nice, dense puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I started baking the pumpkin in the oven this year as arthritis restricts me from cutting chunks and boiling. (Which is much quicker) The one thing the original poster has not mentioned is draining the puree, pumpkin has lots of water and needs draining. I have never had probs with stringy bits as it is pureed in blender. I let it sit in a seive for a few hours to get out as much water as possible, if you do not do this step when you thaw out your pumpkin you will lose some to fluid and your recipes will have too much liquid. DRAIN...drain ....and drain....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Very easy and straightforward recipe! No problems at all, and the inside of the pumpkin did not dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States