Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I just cooked and puree'd about 12 pumpkins using your recipe and they turned out great! One tip though- The cooler the pumpkins are, the harder they are to blend without a lot of opening the lid and pushing it down, then starting again over and over. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I have used this recipe for a while. I recently learned that Libby's uses Dickerson pumpkins to make their puree. As you see in my photo there is a major color difference - the Sugar pumpkin is on the left and the Dickerson is on the right. The Dickerson is vibrant orange, has a sweet aroma and is quite flavorful. I'll never use Sugar pumpkin again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Wow - how easy to make your own fresh pumpkin puree. I had a 5 1/2# pumpkin and I got 6 cups of puree. I froze two 2-cup packages and two 1-cup packages. I had a little problem getting it to puree in the blender (no liquid) so after blending, I dumped in a bowl and also used a potato masher. I was pleased with the finished product. Most definitely will be doing with again with a couple more pumpkins. Thanks SYMKA for sharing these instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I don't like pumpkin , but I always make it as a baby food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Worked great. I had to double the time. The sugar pumpkin should have a weight on it on the recipe so that you will have an idea how much time it would take to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I grew about 70 organic pumpkins this year and after giving many away to friends, family, our FFA program, I still had a LOT of pumpkins left over! I had never made pumpkin puree before, and was worried it would taste different than what my family is used to - Libby's. NO!! I used Howden and Cinderella pumpkins. Definitely bake them until soft and mushy which takes a long time, but worth it. The pumpkins get a wonderful carmelized taste. After peeling the skin off, I put the chunks in a colandar to drain off any additional liquid before putting them in the blender for a velvety smooth consistency. I've already made several recipes using pumpkin from this site! A lot cheaper (and actually taste better) than the canned stuff. Never going back!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe and found I needed to alter it a bit. It was a big pumpkin so I doubled the cooking time. Also I found the puree to be very smooth after I used a blender. It was a very bright yellow and to thin so I reduced it for a few hours on low, stirring frequently. the end result was a nice orange, thick pumpkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Excellent!! I've always used canned pumpkin before, but this was so easy. I bought two pie pumpkins today and they were about 3-4 pounds each, needed to cook about 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I just did this for the first time and I'm so glad it turned out so well! I used a large jack-o-lantern pumpkin. Mine took closer to 2 hours in the oven, but it pureed beautifully in the food processor. I ended up with a gallon container of pumpkin puree!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daniellehively

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Lovely method. Much better pre-cutting into smaller pieces and boiling or steaming. Will use this method often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States