Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Great method, though I just put mine cut-side down on a foil-lined sheet. A food processor makes it even faster and easier than a blender, eliminating the need to pass through a strainer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Photo by karen8817
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I love this recipe! I just used my pumpkins I bought to decorating for fall and my Vita Mix and it was so quick and fun. My pumpkins cooked just right in only one hour. I did slice the larger one in smaller than half pieces so it would cook evenly. Now I have fresh pumpkin for all my soups and baking. I never thought it would be so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen8817

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was very helpful! I cut my pumpkin into quarters because it seemed large to me, and it still didn't get all the way done. But what was done I puréed and used in a pumpkin muffin recipe and it worked out great. I'm not sure I can really tell the difference between this and canned. This was a lot of extra work, I think I'll just buy the canned stuff next time so I can get right to the fun part of baking for me, but I'm thankful for this direction and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I needed pumpkin but they don't have it canned where I've moved. This took my worry out of trying to make it from scratch. I let my pumpkin cool for a good while before trying to puree it. I used a hand blender, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Easiest recipe/instructions ever! I've never cooked a pumpkin pie from scratch before and pureeing the pulp was so easy! I scraped the pulp out very carefully, so didn't have any leftover strings in the puree. The small sugar pumpkin (or sweet pumpkin as my grocery store called it) made about 1-3/4 cups of puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
works great, no need to strain. I store mine in 2 cups, 4 cups and 3 !/2 cups freezer bags for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
froze great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
YEAH!!! I did it... before this recipie it had never really occured to me that you could get pumpkin from anywhere but the cans... I know pathetic, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Love processing my own pumpkin! It makes the best pumkin pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goofy_hobbit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Excellent recommendation. I suggest running it through the blender instead of losing the good fiber. I have grown pumpkins and many different types of squash for 40+ years. One year my pumpkins were devastated by hail but the squash survived. I used the squash for making 'pumpkin' pie and have used squash ever since. It is much more flavorful and brighter color. Guests do notice the added richness of flavor. Also, fill the oven with as many as will fit at a time - it is efficient use of the oven - also, do it when fall starts to get colder and take advantage of the warmth - eliminating the furnace being turned on until later in the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States