Pumpkin Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This was very good to get me started, as I had never pureed pumpkin before. But, my small-sized sugar pumpkin was still rock hard after baking for 1 hour and that was cut into little chunks. Instead I boiled the chucks until soft, then used a hand held blender to puree the pumpkin. I imagine if I had more patience baking the pumpkin would work too. Thank for you getting me headed in the right direction!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Simple, easy instructions for the first time pumpkin pureer, a trick to this is too not let the pumpkin get cold before scooping out the pumpkin meat..once its cold it gets hard to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERGRAY04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This was simple and worked great. I used smaller (softball-size) pumpkins and put them in the fridge overnight. This made the flesh easier to scrape out and allowed the shells to harden again. Had I thought about this ahead of time, I could have used the shells for presentation (like small bowls or poured wax into them to make candles).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Bermes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I just used some of the pumpkin from my jack o lantern, and zapped it in the microwave for 9 minutes. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
Very easy and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
I tried the baking method but I guess my pumpkin was too big; it took at least 4 hours for the pumpkin to get soft on the inside. So for extra pumpkin puree this Halloween, I used fresh, peeled Jack-o-lantern pumpkin and boiled it (small saucepan, over low heat, 2-3 hours for the water to boil down to the bottom, or around 30-40 minutes for the pumpkin to turn soft) with a bit of sugar mixed into the water. Then I blended it and there were no stringy bits, it worked great! I don't suppose I'd add the sugar if I was making soup or bread, but it was good for muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Very simple, very easy, and makes a wonderful puree that can be a healthy substitue to canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Really simple and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-118 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States