Pumpkin Protein Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a great recipe. My changes: 1/4 cup honey instead of splenda, a full cup of pumpkin, applesauce instead of oil, no water and 1 tbsp ground flax seed + 3 tbsp water instead of egg whites (let flax soak in water for 3-5 minutes before incorporating). Baked for 8-10 min. because of the extra pumpkin. Also, flax seeds need to be ground to make the nutrients available
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I wanted to comment on WANKO's comments that baking w protein powder "destroys" the protein... this is UNTRUE - it denatures it (changes the structure of the protein) but the amino acids remain the same... and baking is a better form of cooking w protein powder... as opposed to frying or other high heat methods...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
I left out the oil and put in 1/4c of honey instead of splenda. Also added 1.5 tsp of cinammon and about .5 more of nutmeg. and 1/4c more oatmeal... It's more like a sweet thick oatmeal bread... It does really cook in the 5 minutes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This is the best protein cookie recipe I've tried! The texture is moist and the flavor is great. Only change I made was to remove the soy flour and add two scoops of protein powder instead. For 85 cals and 6 g of protein per cookie! Thanks Ronna!!! Even my kids love 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
These cookies turned out great -- even after I realized that I didn't make them right! I used soy protein powder instead of soy flour, which I'm sure altered the result (although that made them even higher protein, so I guess that's good). I also added a dollop of crushed pineapple (with juice) to increase moisture. I baked them for about 6 minutes and they stayed nice and soft -- in fact, I think they tasted even better the next morning after sitting in the fridge overnight. I think a dash of vanilla extract might be a nice addition next time. In any case, these were a compact and very satisfying on-the-go breakfast, perfect with a cup of coffee. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I made a few changes, too - omitted the molasses, used apple butter instead of oil, used half regular splenda, half brown sugar splenda, upped the pumpkin to 3/4 c., used low cholesterol egg substitute instead of the egg whites, and added a dash of pumpkin pie spice. The guys at work (construction workers, not big on health food) loved them! even after I told them they were good for them - LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking in Belgium
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Tasty breakfast cookies! I used 1 cup fresh pumpkin and added cinnamon & some allspice to that as well, no water or oil. I added about 1/2 tsp of allspice (piment is the name here) and about 1/8 of ground clove in addition to the recommended spices. Did add the flaxseed and used 2 eggs instead of 4 whites. I also had to cook them longer than 5 mins (8-10)but I think it was b/c of the fresh pumpkin being so moist. Very good though! I've already had 3 tonight!! Oh! Also put in walnuts. ***True test of goodness: Husband approved! He is a big health nut and doesn't like/eat anything with too much sugar in it. He LOVED them! Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
My husband is crazy about these cookies! He has them for breakfast nearly every morning. They freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
It is hard to rate healthy recipes on the same scale as chocolate brownies, but I really love these healthy breakfast cookies!! I think they are much better than the brand I have bought in the store. I doubled the recipe and used two whole eggs instead of 4 whites. I used one tbsp. of flaxmeal for the whole batch. I will probably make a version for my husband adding some brown sugar and raisins, he is less of a health nut than I am :) Thanks for submitting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marathonmama
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
These cookies are very good! My kids enjoyed making these and eating them. It's always fun when they don't know they are eating something healthy! I used 1/3 cup honey instead of Splenda, 1 1/2 cup rolled oats, 3 tsp. cinnamon instead of 2, and organic millet flour instead of the soy flour. I think these would also be good with agave nectar in place of the honey. I may try that next time. I think they would be good with raisins too. Oh- I almost forgot- I doubled the amount of pumpkin and baked them for 8-9 mintues instead and they turned out great. Doing it this way made 20 cookies. A tasty healthy treat. Definately will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marathonmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States