Pumpkin Pineapple Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I really like how these flavors combined and will be making it again. I didn't have carrots or mushrooms, and I subbed chicken broth for the veggie broth since I was adding chicken as suggested. I think I might try to make it spicier next time, or add more pineapple. I served it just as soup, but over jasmin rice, tortilla chips, or tortillas seems like it'd be a good combo. **oh, i just threw it all in the crockpot (with thawed chicken on the bottom) since I needed fast and easy. 6.5 hours on low was perfect and then I shredded the chicken and stirred it back in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I was really excited to try this chili, and while the ingredients were so diverse it had a 5 star rating so I thought it would be awesome. Unfortunately for me, I'm not sure if this combination of things hit the mark. I really did not like the pineapple in this dish...it was a little bizarre & if I made it again I would without a doubt omit it! I like meat in my chili so I added some ground turkey breast. Just as other reviewers said, it does turn out more of a soup than a chili. It definitely was different, and I recommend giving it a try based on all the other positive reviews....I guess it's just a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was such a huge hit with my family -- even the picky eaters loved it, which is surprising because the ingredients seem so odd at first glance. "Sensational" was the word my wife used. Had to use cilantro from a spice jar, since fresh was unavailable. Carrots are mentioned in the ingredients list but not in the directions, so I roasted them with the pineapple and corn. Just wondering . . . since you're roasting stuff anyway, why not roast the onions, too? Something to experiment with next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Loved this recipe! I left out the mushrooms and used great northern beans because I was out of black beans. Amazing with a squirt of Siracha sauce if you like a little heat. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShotsyGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
We tried this tonight. Tastes great. Different from the norm, but really good! I'd probably pick it over traditional, spicy chili and a lot of the white chicken chilis I've tried. It's definitely not spicy if that's what you're looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShotsyGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is really good. Excellent combination of flavors. I actually came across this by accident when I planned on grilling but there was bad weather and had to come up with another way to use all the onions, mushrooms, bell peppers, and pineapple. I can't believe I happened to have all the ingredients on hand. If you like chili and/or pumpkin even a little bit you have to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyJen2009

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was fantastic! I love the unique medley of ingredients. I have been fighting a cold and with the colorful rainbow of veggies I should be better in no time! I have never used pumpkin puree in chili but I think it gives a beautiful velvety touch along with the coconut milk. I did add a red pepper and pretty much doubled the recipe. I will DEF make this again and tweek a bit. Maybe a hint of lime would be great. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette Marlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Love this chili!! I used fresh corn cut off the cob and roasted it with the pineapple. I added 2 more cans of beans as chili to me isn't chili with out more beans than other veggies. Might add a little more coconut milk next time. We will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I omitted the mushrooms and forgot the coconut milk. It tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States