Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Sherry
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Really good pumpkin pie. I didn't give it 5 stars but it is good I have a recipe that is a little bit not necessarliy better but different. I would make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamstown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
The best pumpkin pie ever! This was my first attempt at making a pumpkin pie and I was floored at how easy and delicious it turned was. Wow. I used a premade crust from Whole Woods with no hydrogenated oils, covered the crust with foil for the last 15 minutes or so and the whole thing came out perfect. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Yummy Yummy -ness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This easy, tastey pie was a big hit at our Thanksgiving Day table... everyone just kept coming back for more until there was none left!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this yesterday to be our christmas day dessert. It was my first time making any pie. It was very easy. I did not change anything and it came out GREAT. My family loved it and said it was the best pumpkin pie ever. I too made a big mess trying to pour it into the crust as it was very thin but that is one of the joy's of cookinh. Now I know for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAINECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I switched out the corn syrup for a tablespoon of molasses and a tablespoon of maple syrup and put in half dark brown sugar and half white sugar (what I had in the house). I also added in a bit of extra cinnamon, 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves and 1/8 teaspoon allspice. As others have noted, this recipe made way too much and I think I put too much into my pie dish. This meant it took a REALLY long time to cook. I had to keep checking on it and I even think it was overcooked a bit. Next time, I won't fill up the pie so much. However, everyone said it was delicious. This recipe, or at least my adjustment of it, is not too sweet, which my guests enjoyed, but it would also be good with maybe a bit more sugar. I also cut out a bit of pie crust with a snowflake cookie cutter and baked this on it's own small baking sheet. I dusted it with powdered sugar and then placed it on the pie to make it extra special for our Christmas celebration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this at Thanksgiving and people who don't normally eat pumpkin pie ate it. I really needed to make more pies. I used a prepared deep dish pie crust. My oven is a wall oven so I didn't have problems with spilling but I could see if you had a regular oven it would be a dance to try and get it in the oven without spilling it. I use 1/4 c white sugar, 1/2 c brown sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon as my changes. It really does need additional time for the second part of baking. I bake it 10 minutes for the first part and then 50 minutes for the second part. It comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I swapped the light corn syrup and added molasses as one person suggested. Very good though it darkens the filling a bit. If you have the servings set at 8, the recipe makes about 4 cups of filling. I find that this will fill a 9-inch tin pie plate without spilling over. Instead of filling the pie plate on the counter and trying to move it to the oven, place the pie plate in the oven and pour the filling into it. Be careful that you don't miss and pour into the oven. This works perfectly. As far as the spices, I've made this recipe a couple of times. The first time I substituted pumpkin pie spice for the three spices the recipe calls for. The second time I used the actual spices. Either way works for taste. Cooking time is definitely longer than the recipe calls for. Add about 20-25 minutes to the cooking time, checking periodically with a knife to see if the pie is set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Time was way off. Add another 20 minutes at least. Recipe should have stated deep dish. Way too much pumpkin for standard dish. Use 1 can pumpkin and one can of evap milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Excellant taste and easy to prepare. This was my 1st ever attempt on pumpkin pie from my garden pumpkins and not out of a can. My family raved about this. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Bornick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Perry, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States