Pumpkin Pie (Wheat-Free, Egg-Free, and Dairy-Free) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I didn't make the crust (I used store-bought since I'm not vegan), but I made the filling exactly as the recipe called for, and it was delicious! I am lactose and egg intolerant, so this recipe was perfect for me! The filling had great flavor and texture. I baked my pie for about 75 minutes since the knife didn't come out clean at 60. The filling looked darker than most pumpkin pies I've seen, but it tasted great! I'll be making this again next Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Just made this recipe and followed recipe as listed but changed one thing....to make it soy free I used coconut milk (carton) instead of the soy creamer in crust and pie filling. I did have to bake it about 15 min longer than the stated hour but this pie is simply delicious! I am so glad I found this recipe so myself and my grandson with allergies to gluten..dairy...egg and soy can eat this!! I am planning on making a coconut milk whipping cream for it and hope that is just as yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My first ever gluten-free (vegan) pie - SUPER EASY and YUMMY! I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I mostly followed the recipe with the following exceptions: instead of ½ tsp ground ginger I only used a dash and added ½ tsp pumpkin pie spice; instead of canned pumpkin I used freshly baked & finely processed pumpkin – 2 cups as called for; and I was unable to find soy creamer at the store, so I used coffee-mate French vanilla creamer instead. Bake the crust 15 minutes – no more, no less. Follow directions exactly for the crust and it will turn out amazing – flakier than a regular (gluten) crust and with WAY more flavor. Since I was using a stone pie plate, I had already planned to bake the pie more than 60 minutes. My knife inserted 1 inch from the crust didn’t come out clean after an hour, so I didn’t feel bad leaving it in for 30 more minutes. I didn’t use the knife test again at the end of 90 minutes because if that wasn’t long enough, then there was something I did wrong with the recipe. Don’t let the appearance fool you – It won’t look done in the middle, but at the end of 90 minutes this pie was perfectly cooked. After I let it cool on a cooling rack on the counter for 2 hours, it was indeed cooked in the middle. I made it the day before Thanksgiving so it sat in the refrigerator overnight. To serve I simply reheated in a 350 degree oven for 15 mins. This recipe is virtually fool-proof; it’s easy, simple and SO tasty! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
As long as you let the pie chill overnight it is fabulous! It has a slightly different texture than normal pumpkin pie, but still very good. I only used the pie filling recipe and put it in my own crust. I used canned coconut milk instead of soy, sucanat instead of brown sugar and pure maple syrup instead of corn syrup. This is the best allergy friendly pumpkin pie I have tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Great!!! I used regular milk (less than called for), less spices, less sugar, molasses instead of corn syrup. Baked with no crust for 30, topped with an apple crisp topping, finished baking. It was delicious warm and cold!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Egg Free and Soy Free for my daughter with multiple food allergies and she LOVED it! I used Almond Milk with a touch of vanilla added, in place of the soy creamer. Thank you for a great CRUST RECIPE that I plan to use for all my Pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica P.
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This pie was baked with love for my 3 yr old with Food Allergies. :) But... I'm so terrible at following rules (and recipes), so I DID do a little of my own stuff with this recipe, but this recipe was what our pie was based on. First of all, I used a store bought pie crust. (I was saving time because I was also baking 4 other pies besides this one). Anyway, I basically followed the instructions in this recipe except I used a little aunt jemima syrup instead of the dark corn syrup (didn't have it) and I used pumpkin pie spice with a bunch of extra cinnamon just until I thought it tasted good. Also, I added a little extra sugar (white) until I got it sweet enough to suit me... Looked delicious, tasted even more delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Haven't tried it yet, but can't get my question asked without rating the recipe (-: Kate, Do you use potato flour or potato starch in your homemade GF all-purpose flour mix? Just starting to bake GF and have read that potato starch is better, but don't know why. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very easy, and tasty. the crust is a little crumbly but is waaaaay better than the store bought version of GF pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States