Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Wow, these are extraordinary! I followed the recipe precisely except for two changes: I used whole eggs instead of only the whites, and I doubled the topping, but wished I hadn't... the amount called for is really perfect. I have no complaints or suggestions for this recipe because it was truly excellent just as it is. Thank you so much for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was great!! I halved the ginger but that's just a personal thing. I took them to Bible study, big hit! And the left overs quickly vanished when I got home. Saved in my recipe box for later use....I also used sweetened condensed milk, because I had it on hand and didn't want to go out for evaporated milk. Worked just fine, but then I only added 1/4 of a cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mari
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made the recipe just as printed.Took it to work last night and everyone loved it.I would have liked it better if it was thicker but the flavor was good.I was looking for a substitute to take to the homeless shelter that would feed more people than a traditional round pie.This will do the trick and I have some in the oven now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sturtevant, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Excellent! I bake often and love pumpkin. I wholeheartedly agree with the many reviewers that suggest this recipe is excellent as written. Try it unmodified and then adjust to your liking. Sadly, people will diminish ratings for a recipe that they did not even follow! We should stop this practice for the benefit of all! Following this recipe in its entirety yielded an excellent hand-held piece of pumpkin pie with excellent flavor. My family votes for this in lieu of their traditional pumpkin pie this year! Fantastic recipe, thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDURFEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
i goofed And put the spices in the crust. the pumpkin was bland but the crust was great. Even so, it was good. Next time I'll split the spice between the 2. Also do increase the crust by 1/2 to get a good crust in the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Easy to make and easy for the family to love. They are a little overly moist and fragile the first day to be called "squares," but by the scond day, the texture is perfect. Awesome midday snack with a cup of coffee, too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was good... The filling spice didn't taste right to me. I don't like cloves much and that is probably why. Next time I'll use pumpkin pie spice and extra cinnamon which will cut back on the cloves and add in some nutmeg which I prefer. Also I think I'll try adding some cinnamon to the nut mixture. I did add a bit of golden flax seed (ground) to the crust, doubled the amount of oats, and added a bit of grapeseed oil to make it moist enough to pack into the pan. I did this because there wouldn't have been enough crust otherwise. As it was, it was barely enough. I also added just a pinch of sea salt to the crust. If I were just rating the crust and the walnut topping I'd have given the recipe 5 stars, but as I stated earlier the filling was more like a 3 for me... just okay-ish. Plus I did have to modify to get enough crust, so four stars is a pretty fair assessment. However, I will say that I do prefer these squares to the lighter dryer pumpkin (cake-like) bars with loads of cream cheese frosting that are more common. They have more personality and texture than that and are not as cloyingly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I followed this receipe to the letter but I guess I didn't let it firm up enough; I was afraid the crust would burn. BUT it doesn't matter! This dish is great in a bowl too! A defintie keeper. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This recipe is pretty good. I'm not sure about the crust, though. I made it with regular oats, since the recipe didn't specify what type to use. I found that the regular oats gave the crust a strange and not extremely appetizing texture. If I make this again, I'd definitely either use quick cooking oats instead or make a different crust recipe all together. The filling and streusel parts were delicious, though. The bars were very good topped with the cream. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Overall this recipe is awesome, although a little sweet. I found this to be better than the pumpkin pie i make! Note: I would cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup for the filling. Only change i made was adding whole eggs and a 1/4 tsp. nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States