Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Check please…… you are going to think you just finished your dissert at a fancy restaurant when you make these pumpkin squares! My husband is in love with this recipe as am I. Please don't make any changes when trying this for the first time, absolutely none are needed! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessed momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
These squares are delicious. A bit hit around thanksgiving. I doubled the recipe and tried to cook in a 9X13 pan and it didn't work out to well. I had to cook anout 25 min longer than called for for the custard to set but by that time the outside was overcooked. This is a great recipe but next time I'll stick to single batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schreiber, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I prefer to serve this warm, while the topping is nice and crunchy, as an on-the-plate dessert. It's great with whipped cream or non-dairy topping, and gets rave reviews every time. To save time, I don't separate the eggs. Instead, I mix whole eggs with the rest of the custard ingredients and beat for 2 minutes. Also, I like to double the topping. Perfect dessert for cold weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Very good! Everything is perfect as is (i.e. there is just enough streusel topping, despite other's advice to double it) and works very well together (i.e. crust, custard and topping). Made these to take to my future in-laws Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone liked them a LOT (except for my fiance, a confirmed pumpkin hater and his two non-dessert eating brothers :-) ). Even my parents liked these, which came as a surprise to me since they are very "traditional" folks (i.e. plain 'ol pumpkin pie eaters). Please note: To make the crust, you MUST melt your butter and THEN add it to your oat mixture. Amy doesn't specify whether or not to do this (but I know to do so from having made plenty of bar recipes before). Oh, and your streusel topping will crumble MUCH easier if you cut your (cold) butter into very tiny pieces and use a pastry blender (i.e. special kitchen gadget for this purpose) to "blend." Finally, if you have a stand mixer, let it do your work for you. I beat my egg whites to soft peaks in no time flat (which sure beats doing it by hand!!!)! All in all, this is an excellent bar recipe, but I must admit that I am a traditionalist too, and much prefer the standby pumpkin pie, at least on Tday. :-) These sure are good (even cold!) with a generous dollop of Cool-whip though.... Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Awesome fall dessert!! I switched up the flour vs. oats ratio for the crust and used 1 c. oats and 1/2 c. flour. I always cut back on the sugar and only use about 1/2 of what the recipe calls for. Really made the pumpkin take over and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napoleon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
I'm not a huge pumpkin fan but I still liked these. They were a big hit at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
These are so yummy. I used two whole eggs instead of the egg whites simply because I'm lazy and didn't feel like separating the eggs. Also added about a 1/4 cup of rolled oats to the topping.....hubby says he wants this instead of pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angel122898

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2000
Everyone really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This recipe is pretty good. I'm not sure about the crust, though. I made it with regular oats, since the recipe didn't specify what type to use. I found that the regular oats gave the crust a strange and not extremely appetizing texture. If I make this again, I'd definitely either use quick cooking oats instead or make a different crust recipe all together. The filling and streusel parts were delicious, though. The bars were very good topped with the cream. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
These bars are super tasty. I didn't add nuts because I don't like them much. I also added vanilla to the pumpkin mixture. My advice would be not to refridgerate them because the crust gets extremely hard and it makes it difficult to get out of the pan. Once out of the fridge, though, they're fine. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States