Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Based on others reviews, I too modified slightly. For the crust portion, I used slightly more than 1/2 cup of oatmeal - there was plenty for a crust in the 13 x 9 glass pan that I used. I also added more pumpkin and an additional egg for binding and increased spices accordingly. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I also found the the first layer was not big enough to cover a 9x13 pan, so I used a 9x9, made for a thicker square, cooked an additional 15 minutes to accommodate the smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseann
Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this recipe gluten free by using a GF flour mix and subbing ground walnuts for the oats. Nice and easy recipe that feeds a lot of people. Oh, had to bake for 40 minutes and not 20 for it to set up. I would definitely count on a longer bake time so decrease the crust prebake time to 10 minutes instead of 15. Thanks~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Prepared as written for Thanksgiving dessert and went over very well w/ both family and friends. You can't beat this dessert for the calories per serving. There are many other recipes out there at 3x the calories, but this can't be beat for the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
What a fabulous alternative to pumpkin pie. I added a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg but otherwise made the recipe as is. Like other reviewers suggested, I used a 8x8" pan to make these more substantial. Because the batter was thicker this way, I did need to bake this for 50 minutes. It took several hours to chill and firm up. It was worth the wait. The oatmeal crust was a great complement to the pumpkin. These will disappear fast in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great flavor. Needed a little extra time in the oven to set. I took mine out too soon and they were very loose when served. Still got rave reviews and a request to use the crust from now on in all pumpkin pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was very good. I used this recipe and baked it in a 8x8, which I think was perfect. The crust did take 15 min to cook, but the filling took at least 45 min to set (probably because I used an 8x8 instead of the 9x13). I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar in the filling. I am not a big clove fan but the filling requires it for that pumpkin pie taste. Must refrigerate until it is cold and also must serve cold. A dollop of whip cream on each bar is a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was sooooo good.....we substituted the sugar for splenda and the flour for whole wheat white flour and the butter for smart balance and the brown sugar for brown sugar splenda to make it a little healthier. This was Southbeach Diet friendly this way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I loved how easy and yummy the crust on this was. So much easier than making a piecrust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slowcooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I doubled the crust recipe and added walnuts and a little cinnamon. Yum! I also substituted splenda brown sugar and white sugar for the required sugar. The baking times were perfect. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States