Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Made these for the first time today and they're delicious! I followed some suggestions from other bakers: increased the crust by a ratio of 1.5, but only kept the brown sugar to 2/3 cup (I don't like my baked goods too sweet). Baked the crust for 12 minutes. Followed the recipe as written for the filling except only used 1/2 cup white sugar. Baked the whole thing for 30 minutes, then let cool for a few hours before cutting into it. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hicksville, New York, USA
Living In: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
The crust is great! I can't stop eating it just plain. Everyone loved the bars, they were amazing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Y U M these were so good! I took the advise of many and used a square pan rather than a 9x13 - the crust would have been tough in a bigger pan. As a result the filling was taller and did require a lot more cooking time (roughly 30-40min more) but these are well worth it, so very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These were amazing!! SO easy too!! As others have said, you have to double the crust, there's just not enough to cover the pan. My husband loved them, and he's VERY picky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GENHUES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
We went crazy over this! We all love pumpkin pie, but agreed that these bars add something totally different taste wise! I'll be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Very good and easy to make. Followed recipe exactly--had to bake a little longer than 20 minutes, in order for it to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Fabulous recipe!! I made a few changes - for the rolled oats, I used a packet of instant oatmeal, cinnamon & spice flavour. Next time I'll cut down a bit on the sugar in the crust - the instant oatmeal is already sweetened. I couldn't find plain pumpkin, so I used a can of pumpkin pie filling, and left out the spices. I also used a smaller pan, so it took 50 minutes to bake. And it certainly was worth the wait!! These are just too good!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Not sure I liked the crust, kind of too "cake like", flavor overall is okay, I think I am going to try a shortbread style crust next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Based on others reviews, I too modified slightly. For the crust portion, I used slightly more than 1/2 cup of oatmeal - there was plenty for a crust in the 13 x 9 glass pan that I used. I also added more pumpkin and an additional egg for binding and increased spices accordingly. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I also found the the first layer was not big enough to cover a 9x13 pan, so I used a 9x9, made for a thicker square, cooked an additional 15 minutes to accommodate the smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roseann
Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States