Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
AWESOME!!!!! ONE MILLION PERCENT BETTER THAN PUMPKIN PIE. I PROBABLY WILL NEVER MAKE PUMPKIN PIE AGAIN, ONLY THIS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Looked good & smelled good but bake time is WAY off! Double the baking time. (Think about it.... this uses a pumpkin pie filling recipe, and most pumpkin pies start out at 425 for about 10 minutes, then you reduce heat to 350 and bake for another 40-45 minutes. Yes, in an oblong pan, these bars aren't as thick. Still... I recommend starting it at 425, reduce to 350 after 5 minutes, and bake for 35 more minutes, and MAYBE your bars will be properly set and cooked through. Also, you really have to press the oat crust very thin to make it cover the pan. I would increase the crust ingredients by one-third to make sure there was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
After finding this recipe, I discovered that I ran out of pumpkin puree. So, I replaced pumpkin puree with mango pulp. Added an extra egg, a tablespoon of vanilla, and 1.5 cups of unsweetened coconut for a tropical twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have been making this for a few years and realized I haven't rated it yet. I have made often with whole wheat flour in the crust and am picky about what tastes okay or not with whole wheat flour. This one is great and I actually prefer the way it tastes with the whole wheat. I have doubled it before but always used a bigger pan for that. I do increase the crust by 1/2. So for a single batch I do 3/4cup butter, 3/4c brown sugar, 3/4c oats and 1 1/2c flour. This does throw off the proportion of crust to filling though and recommend doing the same thing to the filling. The crust is a nice change from regular crust. It is a little sweeter if you don't pack the b sugar and much sweeter if you pack it (like oatmeal cookie sweet). We don't use dairy milk in our house (we still use butter though) and for the filling I used 1/2can of coconut milk in stead of evaportated milk. This makes the filling thicker and it sets up really nicely. If you refrigerate this it may be hard to get the crust off the pan so I recommend letting it sit out for at least 1/2hour before serving to let the crust become more pliable. If you don't remember to do this you could place it in a hot oven for a couple mins just to soften the outsides and bottom of the crust to help it release from the pan. Hope you enjoy it as much as we do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Made the crust as described in a 9 X 13 except I baked it for about 25 minutes. Doubled the pumpkin mixture - made it with fresh pumpkin I had previously baked in the oven. Put it back in the oven for about 40 minutes when the pumpkin mixture set. No problem at all cutting it into bars, not even when I couldn't wait and cut into it before it even cooled completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Delicious! Very easy to make, and a great alternative to some of the higher calorie pumpkin breads or cakes. These sit up nicely, too, so you can eat them with your fingers if you'd like (and not with a fork and plate).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamBier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
MY CRUST DID NOT TURN OUT WELL AT ALL! VERY SOFT. I THINK IT WAS TOO MUCH BUTTER. MAYBE A HALF A STICK OF BUTTER NOT A HALF A CUP LIKE THE RECIPE CALLS FOR??? BUT THE PUMPKIN PART OF IT WAS GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Loved this recipe, with the following changes: Increased flour and oats by 1.5X, replaced white sugar with mashed dates (cover dates with boiling water, soak for 5 minutes, drain most of the water, then mash with hand blender), and replaced evap milk with soy milk. I probably also ended up adding a spoonful or two of extra pumpkin puree, as I always do! Sprinkled chopped pecans and drizzled with chocolate sauce before serving! I also ended up having to increase baking time a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was an awesome pumpkin desert. Super quick and easy to make. I had rave reviews from my family and my friends. Any potluck I have been requested to make these. To make it a bit more low-fat the second go around I used fat free evaporated milk and used half butter and half margarine and you couldn't even taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was just soooo incredibly good! Its just as good if not BETTER than pumpkin pie! I made as written and it was just fine for me. I did use fresh nutmeg and added a little extra cinnamon and ginger for flavor and that worked out well. It takes A LOT longer to cook and set the crust, and same problem with the filling. You basically need to double both cooking times just as a starting point. Next time I might double the crust and add more sugar to the filling because although its not too sweet you could make it sweeter if you wanted.......Don't be scared of the filling, when you add the evaporated milk it seems SO thin! Thin like soup.....thats ok! It will reduce and leave a thick rich filling. (Hence why its a 40 min cook time and not 20 as listed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States