Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Delicious! There's definately not enough crust to cover a pan. I followed the directions exactly and my crust was burned after 15 min. By the end of cooking, it was inedible. But the pie filling was excellent. My recommendation is to double the entire recipe. Bake the crust for only 5 min and add 10-15 min cook time to the pie filling. Once out, let it stand for at least 1/2 hr. Pumpkin sets better over time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I changed this up a bit. Instead of using a 15 ounce can of pumpkin, I used a 30 oz can, doubled the spices, and baked for 50 minutes. I got a much deeper dish square that has gotten much acclaim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
I loved this recipe! My boyfriend loved it, too! It's about as close as you can come to pumpkin pie without all the laborious steps it takes to achieve a great pie. As I'm health conscious when it comes to recipes, I substituted the evaporated milk with the same amount of soy milk and trimmed the butter by half for the crust. The pumpkin mixture added the perfect amount of moistness to the recipe that no one knew that I'd revised the recipe. Great all around and super quick! Try it--it's the next best thing to pumpkin pie without all the hassle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
A new family favorite!! I found there wasn't enough crust to fit a 9x13 pan. Did anyone else have the same problem? The crust fit better in a 9x9 and I also had to bake the filling for 20 minutes longer to set it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDENSVEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This is the best pumpkin recipe I've ever tried! My family begs me to make it frequently and it's easy to put together. Some tips: I read a few reviews that the filling didn't get firm enough.This is because the dessert really needs to chill thoroughly. But even then,it's not supposed to be a finger food. Also, I added a litle freshly grated nutmeg and a 1/4 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice. This is absolutely delicious.. I haven't made a pumpkin pie since I found this recipe ! I give it 5 stars !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
Great recipe. Had to bake it for 10 more minutes than the recipe called for, to make sure the pumpkin layer is set. Goes wonderfully with some whipped cream on top. Cool and refreshing, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I followed some others' suggestions and put this in an 8x8 pan. That made this dessert very much like pumpkin pie and much less like bars. My pumpkin lover husband loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe, but my experience may help you decide whether you want to double the crust, double the pumpkin filling, or keep the recipe as is... I made this twice in a span of three days. The first time I followed the recipe to the letter. It was indeed just enough crust to cover the bottom of a 9x13 pan, so the crust was very thin. The filling was also very very thin (not like the main picture shown - which is thicker than what I came out with). Still, the squares were absolutely delicious - the crust was perfect with just a bit of crunch which made it really lovely. I did think to myself that I would like just a tad more filling. Soooo... I made it a second time and doubled the recipe. I made it in two smaller pans (an odd size - around 5x13 I think). While it was nice to have a little more filling, the crust is MUCH NICER as is. The thicker crust did not come out with the same crunchiness that we so enjoyed the first time. It just wasn't as nice. **** So, all in all, a fab recipe, but I might recommend keeping the crust as is and then increasing the filling by 50%. Also, it is much better once it is thoroughly chilled. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Excellent! Tried them at a Halloween party and everyone loved them. I almost did not have enough batter for the crust and may increase it by 1/4. Needed to cook 10 minutes longer than recipe indicates - keep checking it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
very nice! I also used soy milk and it worked out just pertect. I baked the crust a little bit longer and it didn't end up soggy at all! thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States