Pumpkin Pie Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
These were fantastic! My family LOVED them. I did something I never do, and that is changed the recipe before I even tried it. We were at the cabin and I didnt have the ingredients! SO, I doubled the spices, could do even more, I think. I doubled the crust, like some others and used the whole can of pumpkin, so doubled as well. But that was it. It took a LOOOOONG time, but it was worth the wait. Also, as some others mentioned, they are much better cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Yummy, but I only added 1/2 c butter and reduced sugar by 1/3 c. The secnod time i did it, it wasn't that good. So maybe third time's a charm....we'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Great to use as starter recipe... I agree the crust ingredients weren't enough for a 9x13", but I did half again as much (3/4 c. butter, 3/4 c. bro sugar & 1 1/2 c. flour total) and it was just right. I used squash (we call it crook-neck, not sure of the official name for it) that we had in freezer from last fall in place of pumpkin, and despite it being alot more moist, the flavor and texture was great in the finished product. Baked it right at an hour. Probably could've gone a little less but with the recent egg recalls I wanted to make sure it was completely cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
These were amazing! My family started digging in to them before they were even cooled. I didn't change a thing in the recipe and had no problems. I actually made a double batch of the filling, used 1/2 for this recipe and the other 1/2 for a pumpkin pie. The Pumpkin Pie squares are gone and the pie is still in the refridgerator, the family preferred the squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe, but my experience may help you decide whether you want to double the crust, double the pumpkin filling, or keep the recipe as is... I made this twice in a span of three days. The first time I followed the recipe to the letter. It was indeed just enough crust to cover the bottom of a 9x13 pan, so the crust was very thin. The filling was also very very thin (not like the main picture shown - which is thicker than what I came out with). Still, the squares were absolutely delicious - the crust was perfect with just a bit of crunch which made it really lovely. I did think to myself that I would like just a tad more filling. Soooo... I made it a second time and doubled the recipe. I made it in two smaller pans (an odd size - around 5x13 I think). While it was nice to have a little more filling, the crust is MUCH NICER as is. The thicker crust did not come out with the same crunchiness that we so enjoyed the first time. It just wasn't as nice. **** So, all in all, a fab recipe, but I might recommend keeping the crust as is and then increasing the filling by 50%. Also, it is much better once it is thoroughly chilled. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was okay. The crust kinda over powered the pumpkin pie taste so I didn't really like it. It's different, yeah, but I like the original pumpkin pie better. I think this crust tastes better with pumpkin cheesecake instead of pumpkin pie. I might try that later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zhou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Taste just like pumpkin pie! Really easy and really tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Everyone loved this pumpkin pie alternative. I used the original recipe in 9X13 pan and it made a thin crust layer at the bottom. Perfect if you don't like much crust. I did have to add about 10-15 minutes to the baking time for the pumpkin mixture to set. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was good. I made this twice in the last couple of weeks. I used pumpkin pie spice instead of the the spices listed. I'll make again. I made the first batch into bars and used cupcake liners to make individual servings the second time. Both turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erhard, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I shortened the crust cooking time by 5 minutes based on other reviewers assessment of hard crust. Added a dash of nutmeg and a dash of molasses to the filling. Had to bake an extra 10-15 minutes to set the filling - maybe because my organic canned pumpkin seemed less firm than regular canned pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States